We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, it was ok.”
Review of Water Street Cafe

Water Street Cafe
Ranked #62 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gastown
Staunton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eh, it was ok.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were seated immediately but that was where the promptness ended. Service was slow...very slow.

we were given bread but the butter was so hard that you couldn't spread it.

The caesar salad for 2 is still basically a salad for one. I would hate to see how small the regular one is.

good positivie was they had a few local beers in bottles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deejamahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    245
    60
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. The pasta dishes are delicious and huge. In nice weather, the outside seating is right across from the steam clock . Our servers were pleasant and efficient. When ordering,our server made sure we knew that our entree had nuts in it , and I noticed her doing that with others too. More restaurants should do this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lonelobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had an excellent dinner at the Water Street Cafe. The location is prime, as it is right across the street from the famous steam clock. The food was great as well; I had the veal while my girlfriend had the chicken. The portion sizes were just right and the prices were very reasonable considering the restaurant's location. Service was satisfactory; however, I still would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We should have chosen indoor dining”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came upon this place while wandering the streets of Gastown. Since the weather was nice we opted for outside dining. Our first table was unacceptable so we were seated at another one that wasn't much better---barely a table for two and extremely close to the table next to us. We were served promptly for our wine order and things went downhill from there. It was apparent the wait staff forgot all the tables in our area. Food was OK, staff was pleasant when they showed up.
Probably would not return but if we did it would be during off hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Gastown restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great meal here on our last night in Vancouver. Food was good, service friendly (if a little slow) and really good value, especially considering the location right in the middle of Gastown. Really recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmartieBanchory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Water Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing