We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good Food & Service”
Review of Lupo Restaurant

Lupo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lupo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Between Robson & Smithe
Transit: Near Skytrain and bus routes
Description: Modern Italian cooking emphasizing quality and value. Lupo Restaurant located at the entrance to Vancouver’s famous Yaletown area. Theatres, Concert and sporting venues all within a short walk.
San Diego CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Food & Service”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our hotel concierge recommended Lupos and since it was Sunday evening, we went without a reservation thinking it would be a quiet evening. We were able to be seated, but the restaurant was very busy with lots of 20 and 30 somethings enjoying the great food and each others company. (There must be something about Vancouver young adults and electronics. We saw only one or two with their iphones, etc., out during dinner.) The restaurant is situated in a small three story house with the second floor living room/diningroom/enclosed porch serving as the dining area. The menu is somewhat limited, but excellent both in quality, quantity and presentation. The service is good and attentive and prices are reasonable. A split on the salad, two entrees, two glasses of wine and two espressos: $120 including tip.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    163
    37
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“elegant, yet warm and welcoming”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I arrived at the restaurant, a first time tourist to Vancouver, tired from a day of traveling. But true to our host's word, I left happy, relaxed and feeling great. The food (Italian) was excellent. My fish was perfectly cooked and tasted fresh and light, and my husband raved over his lamb dish. I have eaten at more expensive restaurants that didn't have that light and fresh taste. The restaurant is in a charming old Victorian with several small rooms (4+ tables in each room) that open on to each other - you can have a cozy and quiet conversation, while still being part of the larger restaurant. The staff was great- friendly, relaxed and efficient. I wish we had a restaurant like this in my home town.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Really friendly and excellent cuisine”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Having eaten here on spec during a recent short visit to Vancouver, our meal was so excellent we returned 2 nights later, to be greeted like regulars. Cuisine (Italian) is excellent, as is the service by the prioprietor and staff, whio clealy take a pride in their restaurant.. Located in a "house" surrounded by a jungle of skyscrapers. Not cheap, but a cut above the bulk of the restaurants in the area, and a haven of civilisation.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, attentive staff, excellent food.”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We went to this restaurant on a recommendation from the hotel. Food was excellent, service was great. Small place, but very charming. A good variety of dishes.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent modern italian in yale town”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Went here with a couple of friends. Atmosphere was ewxcellent as was most of the food. Special cheese starter was excellent as was the steak main course.

First bottle of amerone was not great so sent it back. No complaints at all from restaurant and we ended up ordering a couple of other bottles.
Just missed a rare 5 star from me due to the dessert being just ok.

I would certainly try this again when next in vancouver

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupo Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Lupo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing