We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Indian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vij's Restaurant - MOVED

Vij's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Granville
Chesterton In
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This man knows how to run a restaurant, food was very good and Vij knows how to work a room. He went to every table to inquire about the food and make sure everyone's needs were met.. We waited 11/2 hours to get in and we felt it was worth it. They passed around appetizers to the people waiting. On another note I felt it was overpriced and expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KPGChesterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    207
    95
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

They don't take reservations and we went even hearing that it might be a 90 minute wait. We had a seat in the bar while we waited. We invited another waiting couple to join us at our table in the bar. We had a drink and visited, they brought around snacks and it seemed no time before they called our name. I am not sure how long we waited, but it seemed like about 45 min. The staff was friendly and helpful. The owner was very welcoming and I think visited every table. The food was delicious. I think they deserve their title as best Indian food in North America. And note, the chefs and those working in the kitchen are women. Excellent job ladies! Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extraterrestrial Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is more experiential than just a meal. It's not fusion, its not traditional, its a taste bud explosion. I love spicy Indian food and the way in which textures, tastes and aromas are blended is unique. This is why there is always a line to get seated.

However while you are waiting there are very interesting people who also know its worth the wait and hors d'oeuvres are freely passed around the waiting area. These give you a preview of what lies ahead. I suggest come with a group so you can share many different flavors. And of course come hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, but popular place, so be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great food, in a sort of updated nouvelle Indian style. Very fresh and interesting, and probably the best Indian-based food I've had.

It is very popular and, as they don't take reservations, be prepared to wait. But they do make it worth your while - there is a waiting area outside and by the bar, inside, where you can have a drink and where they bring you snacks from time to time. Service is good.

Prices are a bit on the high side, but not outrageous, and probably reasonable value for a popular / successful restaurant. It is what it is. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
350 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great food but they should take reservations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Vij's is great (as is the related Rangoli next door). The atmosphere and food are everything you can read about in the other reviews. I am not a regular Indian food eater, but am quite certain that it doesn't get any better!

That being said, the wait is brutal. We arrived at 5:50pm on a Friday night thinking we were early given the restaurant opens at 5:30. It was full and were told the wait would be 1 1/2 hours. In the end, the wait was just about 2 hours and I'm afraid it put a damper on the evening. If we had planned anything else to do later, we couldn't have eaten at Vij's. I guess because the restaurant is so popular (and perhaps a bit arrogant), it might be able to squeeze in 1/4 more turns on the tables over the course of an evening this way, but it is a bad experience for the customers. I'd love to go again, but have no intention of waiting like that again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vij's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing