We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overhyped and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tojo's Restaurant

Tojo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tojo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #338 of 3,680 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overhyped and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love sushi and read Tojo as the top sushi restaurant in Vancouver.
We were there the evening of Thanksgiving and the restaurant was empty. We were quite surprised. We has reserved the sushi bar for the omakase. The hostess showed us a typed
Explanation that the omakase menu is $125.00 to $150.00 ......but then verbally told us the omakase is now priced from $150.00 to $200.00 depending on how much we ate.
This was after she asked "where are you from"... Tho the omakase was good, we felt ripped off.
There were too many non sushi dishes..e.g. A soup with chanterelles mushrooms..
We told our concierge we were charged $390.00 including a glass of wine for each of us. They were shocked....it certainly left a bad impression for us.
Disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    73
    60
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I am a sushi aficionado and I visit the best sushi restaurants in the cities where I travel. Tojo's is well recommended and is well known in Vancouver. I tried the omakase tasting menu which was generally very good. The sashimi was ok but the tuna belly was still nearly frozen so it was really too cold to serve. The uni was good. The restaurant is pleasant and roomy, with a busy sushi bar. Location on West Broadway is a bit inconvenient unless you live in the area. Tojo's is pretty good but with a bit more care I think it can be outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJW_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Defies description”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Too bad so many people recommend Tojo's for the sushi - not because the sushi is bad; it's not (it's incredible) - but because it is so much more. It is Japanese cuisine at its best: you won't eat better outside of Japan. Simply listing the plates - sashimi, tempura (zucchini flower stuffed with crab), crab meat with melon and cucumber and daikon, topped with wasabi 'mustard', marinated sable fish, 8 different nigiri sushi - doesn't do the food justice. The table next to us also ordered the 'makase', and got five entirely different plates. The food is incredible. All this plus excellent service - I would have expected to pay more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BladeKandahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi place in North America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

On my second last trip to Vancouver, my contacts wanted me to visit a restaurant that they thought was "the best sushi place in Vancouver". It paled in comparison to what I believe is, without any close competition, the best sushi restaurant in North America.

I've given up on eating sushi in other places: they're just not even close to Tojo's.

The quality and freshness of the food, the combination of taste, the presentation, the service and... Tojo himself. There's not one negative there. It's a great restaurant.

I think there may a lot trying to imitate him - but you can't imitate what is simply genius in food preparation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tojo was highly recommended as the Japanese restaurant in Vancouver and we tried it out during our visit. The service was great and the sushi and sashimi prepared in a traditional way, nothing to complain about but in the past 3-4 years there has been an incredible development among sushi ches, we did not see or experience that at Tojos. We tried the chicken on the menu and it was really good and well prepared.
Tojos is definitely worth a visit

Mr Lars

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tojo's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tojo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing