We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 3,808 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Description: The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant is located in Granville Island beside the Public Market. Their unique patio is under the Granville Street Bridge, overlooking False Creek. Enjoy sushi from Chef Hoshi’s Sushi Bar, open all week from 5:30pm onwards. From Thursday to Sunday, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar. Featuring a variety of local brew, the Sandbar is an exciting place to listen to live music, enjoy fresh tapas and meet great people.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant is huge--several storeys kind of huge, and very noisy and bustling. We went with a large group spread among several tables, so we wouldn't have fit into many other places nearby. The food and service in places this size is often disappointing, but we were really impressed. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and drink pairings, and willing to spend time on all our questions. And our fish (arctic char for my partner and ahi tuna for me) was some of the best we've ever had. Our meals also took a long time, but that might have been due to the size of our group. Next time I'm in Vancouver and feel like splurging, I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecsplode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    553
    168
    51
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masset, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place to be on a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited on a beautiful sunny day with my parents where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. Top marks for the service. Our server was friendly but professional and checked on us the right amount of times without being annoying. The food was tasty and the fish cooked execeptionally well. It was on the pricier side so it's not a place I would visit often but great for a special occasion. The building itself it beautiful and it's in an amazing location. I suppose we were paying the price given the views. I would recommend to visitors to Vancouver.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant was close to where I was staying and was recommended by serveral friends. A warm welcome followed by excellent food. A lot of locals as well as tourists. A good night. The deck outside is well heated and protected by the elements by the bridge overhead. Well tucked away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grownup56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food was good - not great. But if you're not a foodie, you'll love it. Make sure you sit on the upper floor overlooking the water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Patient, though weird about reservations...”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stellar food. All around our table of 7, the food was terrific, from salads to huge steaks, to seafood feasts. Lovely desserts, too. Not much of a wine list,but adequate. My buddy tried to make reservations, but was told, well, wrong information, but they still accommodated us, and our server was fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReadLisaRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you kindly for your recent feedback. We appreciate you giving us your time in communicating your experience.

Your comments about difficulty in making reservations certainly requires us to investigate and follow up with you.

Is there a contact number that one of our managers can reach you at? My direct email address is below. We would like the opportunity to understand what happened and rectify matters.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments.

I look forward to hearing back from you,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

SANDBAR IS:
BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing