We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Lunch”

The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 3,947 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Description: The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant is located in Granville Island beside the Public Market. Their unique patio is under the Granville Street Bridge, overlooking False Creek. Enjoy sushi from Chef Hoshi’s Sushi Bar, open all week from 5:30pm onwards. From Thursday to Sunday, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar. Featuring a variety of local brew, the Sandbar is an exciting place to listen to live music, enjoy fresh tapas and meet great people.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have not been to the Sandbar in quite a while and when my mom's friend said let's go to a seafood restaurant, I thought of why not go back to the Sandbar. After all these years, the food is still good and they have kept up the quality. What impressed me during this lunch was our main course was running a bit behind and they were honest enough to tell us and they kept approaching us to let us know that our food was coming. At some other restaurants, they would just let you wait without telling you. We weren't really in a hurry and we had some appetizers. So, we weren't really bothered by the main course being a bit delayed. The dish that I enjoyed the most was the Sambal Prawns. It was really meant to be a main course but I decided to order it as an appetizer to share. Perfectly fried and the flavors were good. One nice thing too is that they had put the sambal sauce to the side. So, if someone in your party cannot take spicy, this works out perfectly. So, if you are ever in Granville Island, do try the Sandbar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Antoniod,

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write up a good amount of detail on all that pleased you! As we always strive to keep our standard consistently excellent, your specific references are constructive and helpful!

Come 'round again for patio season....enjoy!

All of the best,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

SANDBAR IS......
BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,139 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

On a guided tour of Vancouver our coachdriver/guide gave us 45 minutes for lunch in Granville Island. As arty of five we found Sandbar and explained our time constraint to receptionist. They seated and served us good food in a very efficient manner. Completely satisfied so we returned next day when exploring Granville in our own time. Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Sandbar Restaurant on Granville Island. We are happy to know you were well satisfied!

Enjoy your travels!

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

SANDBAR IS:
BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have been to Sandbar several times over the last few years. Always good quality seafood, but I prefer it for a casual get-together as opposed to a more formal meal. The restaurant is big and can get a bit noisy; not as a good if you're looking for an intimate setting. Location is great, especially if you can get a table close to the window for a view of the water. Mussel mania is the best deal - mussels, fries, and a beer for $12 from 3-6pm weekdays. Food is consistently good; I especially like the wok squid, the cedar plank salmon, and the seafood hot pot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again to the Sandbar for all those scrumptious seafood dishes you mentioned!

Best regards,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Sandbar is one of those restaurants that just feels good to pull up a chair and relax with a great meal. We eat here multiple times per year and the staff has always been extremely friendly and efficient and the food has never disappointed. Everything from the catch of the day to their amazing burgers and great selection of beers make this a restaurant you do not want to miss. Casual yet classy, it is comfortable for all ages and the views of the harbor are some of the best. Their bar is also a great location to view the city and enjoy new and old friends. The only thing that kept me from giving them 5 points is the same thing that effects all businesses on Granville Island, the parking. There is lots of it but it is always way full and for good reason. Check out the Sandbar, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tall_six6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your fabulous review, and for letting us know just how much you enjoy the Sandbar - repeatedly!

Please introduce yourself next time you are in, we would appreciate it! We are Lou, Anne or Charlotte...

All of the best until your next visit to the Sandbar,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was not great quality and it had a tourist trap feel. Overpriced and would not recommend. I had the fish and chips, and the fish was a little soggy. My wife had the oyster po'boy which had too much garlic, the oysters were rubbery and fries were cold.

Thank Jibbity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, a thank you for taking the time to write a review, letting us know of your recent dining experience at the Sandbar. I apologize on behalf of the Sandbar for the disappointing experience.

May we speak with you directly about your comments so that we can use your feedback to investigate the matter? If you could leave your telephone number through our direct company email, one of the Managers at Sandbar will contact you shortly: feedback@vancouverdine.com

Please be assured your food observations have been forwarded to the Executive Chef and his kitchen team to inspect.

Look forward to hearing from you, and thanking you in advance,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing