We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time ever but not last”
Review of The Fish House In Stanley Park - CLOSED

The Fish House In Stanley Park
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Stanley Park
Cross street: Lagoon Dr. and the tennis courts
Transit: Davie & Denman: The 5, the 6, the C21 and the C23 Vancouver Trolley courtesy stop at Stanley Park Dr & Lagoon Dr
Description: Among the spectacular gardens of Stanley Park sits the historic Fish House restaurant. Relax and dine in our Fresh and Casual concept featuring exceptional seafood, freshly shucked oysters or indulge in our Mixed Grill. Sit back with a micro-brewed beer, a glass of wine from our award-winning wine list or enjoy a seasonal, specialized martini. For private events we have three distinct rooms, two of which feature patios opening onto the scenic natural beauty of Stanley Park. Whether it is a boutique wedding, corporate party or business meeting, the Fish House caters to your needs and wishes!As of May 2013, we are proud to announce that we are one of the few seafood restaurants in Vancouver to be 100% Ocean Wise™
Surrey, Canada
1 review
“first time ever but not last”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

the food was excellent I especially enjoyed the Salmon Wellington. the only reason i said my meal was not the best ever was because i had eaten at the Cannery. The Fish House version of Salmon Wellington was good but not quite as good as the Cannerys.. However, the rest of the dininig experience was excellent. The food was excellent, the server was prompt with out hovering. What I also appreciated was the fact that there are washroom facilities and an elevator for those of us who are mobility challenged.
will i go back to the Fish House as well as recommend it to others. You bet I will

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, kathy b!

Funnily enough, when the Cannery was still a restaurant we were part of the same family. We still use the same Salmon Wellington recipe -- but we've made a slight change on the dill vin blanc.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit, and that you'll be back soon!

Happy dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    278
    71
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop in Stanley Park”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We made this one of our must stops on our day long adventure in Stanley Park and we were definately not disappointed. The food, while definately on the pricey side, was amazing. We all ordered something different and each was equally delicious. The entire staff was super friendly and only added our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your review, Mandelaura and thanks for stopping by during your visit in one of North America's few urban rain forests.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is one Vancouver restaurant that consistently performs, and does so at a good price point. It delivers outstanding seafood with polished service in an elegant and open setting. And best of all - one does not go there to "be seen", which appears the hallmark of some of Vancouver's purported top eateries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saturnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, Saturnian! We are really glad to hear that you enjoy Chef Curtis' delectable deep-water dishes and the Fish House experience!

Happy dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A relaxed delicious dinner gently guided by a knowlegdeable waiter. A very special dinner and we will definitely return when we find ourselves in Vancouver.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, Nancy! We hope to see you next time that you're visiting from Texas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Good Price!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My first time at The Fish House and couldn't have asked for a better experience with food and service. The appetizers, main meal (had Salmon Wellington which was incredible) and dessert were done very well and the quantity was perfect! They had a summer cocktails that they were offering and they were delicious and refreshing. I will definitely be going back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank vacationlover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the TripAdvisor review, vacationlover2012. We have guests who come all over North America to try our Salmon Wellington! It's certainly a Fish House favourite classic!

Happy dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House In Stanley Park also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing