We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty service, good seafood”
Review of The Fish House In Stanley Park - CLOSED

The Fish House In Stanley Park
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Stanley Park
Cross street: Lagoon Dr. and the tennis courts
Transit: Davie & Denman: The 5, the 6, the C21 and the C23 Vancouver Trolley courtesy stop at Stanley Park Dr & Lagoon Dr
Description: Among the spectacular gardens of Stanley Park sits the historic Fish House restaurant. Relax and dine in our Fresh and Casual concept featuring exceptional seafood, freshly shucked oysters or indulge in our Mixed Grill. Sit back with a micro-brewed beer, a glass of wine from our award-winning wine list or enjoy a seasonal, specialized martini. For private events we have three distinct rooms, two of which feature patios opening onto the scenic natural beauty of Stanley Park. Whether it is a boutique wedding, corporate party or business meeting, the Fish House caters to your needs and wishes!As of May 2013, we are proud to announce that we are one of the few seafood restaurants in Vancouver to be 100% Ocean Wise™
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spotty service, good seafood”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The service was really slow to start - it took about 30 min before our waitress took our order. She did manage to redeem herself by the meal's end though. The food was good - I had the salmon risotto, which was tasty, because I love anything with truffle. Another in our party had the Arctic char and thought it was delicious. If you're in the mood for filling seafood and aren't in a hurry, I would recommend this place. They have a children's menu too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi K G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that your evening started off slowly, but am gladdened to hear that the server and the food made your night worthwhile!

If you're a fan of Arctic Char, be sure to try both the Simply Grilled Arctic Char and the pan-seared Arctic Char, served with a Manchego and cumin potato croquette, chipotle hollandaise and fresh local vegetables!

Happy dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    278
    71
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kealakekua
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

iin vancouver for one night. my sister recommended the fish house so we went as a family group of five. the food was ok but a bit overpriced. my salmon was undercooked(raw inside) my husband had halibut which was good but was served with beet sauce that was all over vegtables and potatos also. beet sauce was not mentioned on menu and unfortunatly, he doesnt like beets. everyone else felt their dinners were ok. but that seems a little inadequate for what we paid. on the plus side, the restaurant is very nice, pretty grounds and a very pleasant server. he was so nice, i hated to complain to him. i am sure if we had, we would have been able to get something else but it seemed like too much trouble to send 2 meals back. sorry, wish we had done something else for our only night in canada. and the parking needs to be well marked. we had a lot of trouble finding parking close enough for my elderly uncle to walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank konachristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor, kealakekua.

I'm sorry to hear that your husband doesn't like beets.

It would have been no trouble at all if you had sent your meals back. The team here at the Fish House in entirely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy their dining experience. Your server would have loved to help you find something on our menu that you would have enjoyed.

We will follow-up with the City to have them improve the parking marking in Stanley Park better, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Fish”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

went there with the family. Lovely location and everyone who had fish was very happy with their meal. Waitress and general service was excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time provide a review for us, JD650! Looking forward to your visit time you're in town from West Kelowna. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber Springs, AR
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Slow and Parking Ticket”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant decor is very nice and the service was professional and friendly. Unfortunately, the kitchen staff was extremely slow and it took almost two hours for our meal in the middle of the afternoon. The wait staff was quite embarrassed and said that there was preparation underway for a large group that evening. The manager was visible in the dinning room but never came over to apologize or offer an explanation. He didn't even thank us for coming when we passed him as we left the restaurant.

Most of the food was quite good, but a couple of people in our party found their entree was not even warm. Guess their meal had been sitting in the kitchen for quite awhile.

WARNING! As we waited for our meal, I realized that my parking time was about to expire so I went back to the lot and purchased another hour. When we left the restaurant, I found that I had a parking ticket even though my second payment had been made before my time had expired. We went back into the restaurant and fortunately the friendly waiter was still there and we showed him the ticket plus our two receipts for payment. He said that the city of Vancouver had subcontracted the enforcement of parking to a private firm and this happened frequently. He made copies of everything and said he would have the manager call when he returned. Given our experience with the manager and given that the penalty was quite high and we were leaving BC the next day, we decided to go visit the private company in person. It took awhile to find them, but we went to their office and presented our documents. Surprisingly, the manager had already called and the ticket had been voided. When we asked for an explanation, we were told it was a patrolman error. We got documentation that the ticket was voided just in case. We wonder if the fact that our rental car had California plates had make us the target of the profit making scam by the private company given that this problem happens frequently at the Fish House. By the way, there is no requirement of displaying your paid parking receipt on your dash; evidently this is due to you having to enter your license plate number when you pay the fee. Be careful in Vancouver - especially if you are a tourist.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawgFan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, HawgFan64.

The City owns all of the parking in Stanley Park and contracts out parking patrol to a third party. We are always willing to help our guests sort out any parking issues they have that occur as a result of the contractor's error.

We're happy to hear that your parking issue was resolved that same day.

Someone from our management team would like to speak further with you about your experience here. Please e-mail us your contact information at info@fishhousestanleypark.com or give us a call at 1-877-681-7275.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Informal elegance in the beauty of Stanley Park.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed a very lovely meal at Fish House after completing the Bank of Nova Scotia 1/2 Marathon run this June. We wanted a nice spot to celebrate my wife's accomplishment and found the Fish House to provide the right mix of informality an elegance. Linen table cloths, tasteful decore in surrounded by the old growth forest of Stanley Park. A highly focused menu with simple dishes provided some nice choices. Our server was well informed and attentive. Good presentation of our meals and reasonable prices. The one downfall was the young and poorly trained hostess staff. On our departure, the hostesses were too busy in their own conversation to take note of a customer heading past them. This is unacceptable for a restaurant of this nature and calibre in this location. The staff are friendly but the hostesses lacked focus. Management needs to pay attention to this element of the dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback, and congratulations on completing the 1/2 marathon this past weekend! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Curtis and his kitchen team, as well as ensuring staff are always attentive and focused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House In Stanley Park also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing