We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a sassy attitude.”

Elbow Room Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 98 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Squamish,BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food with a sassy attitude.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It's not for young children but the food was delicious and the brunch menu is really creative. The bacon avocado shrimp bennies were to die for. For great food served with a side of tongue lashing this is the place to be lol.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabestaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    113
    37
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast spot with TONS of character!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you haven't been to the Elbow Room Cafe or taken your out of town guests here, take them stat! The staff used to be super rude but they've unfortunately toned it down now. I guess some grumps must've gone here and ruined it for the rest of us...Alright.. continuing with the review... Portions are HUGE! For carnivores I recommend The Bryan over the more masculine and beefy sounding Rocky 5, trust me on this,, other than that... GET YOUR OWN DAMN COFFEE and be ready to be made fun of!! ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food, service & value”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here by recommendation & was not disappointed. The food was really good quality & there was loads of it too. Our only disappointment was that the service was too nice & we did not get told off as expected!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FarAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother coming here if you're stuck up or in a hurry”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I love their breakfasts. There's always plenty of food and it's cooked just the way you want it. I've been coming here for years - usually for breakfast. Expect the waiters to be loud and obnoxious but they know their limits.

Only bring your kids of you are ok with them being around swearing.

Expect a great meal and if the timing is right you'll be amused and entertained.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryNNelsonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food with "interesting" service”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited the Elbow room for breakfast. Interesting to say the least. Read the "rules" on the front of the menu and so share is a great option as the portions are gigantic! We ordered bread with scrambled egg, mushrooms and cheese. Cannot remember the fancy name. It was delicious!

The atmosphere is good and the owner/waiter is a character! I think it is a very nice gesture to "pay a penalty" if you do not finish your meal as the money goes to feed those less fortunate!

I will recommend the Elbow room for anyone wanting good food with a different atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elbow Room Coffee Shop also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Elbow Room Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing