We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Seafood and Terrific View!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West End
Cross street: Denman
Description: The Boathouse is a casual fine dining restaurant with a beautiful view of English Bay from every table. With three different types of experiences, from a fun filled patio, to a cozy pub, to the top floor romantic dining room, there's a room for every occasion.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood and Terrific View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There were 14 of us for dinner. I had the halibut fish & chips and I have to say it was very good. What I noticed was the portions were not overly generous for what we were paying.The service was top notch and atmosphere was very nice with a fantastic view of the ocean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    195
    109
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood at sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had read mixed reviews on the Boathouse and asked the Sheraton Wall hotel concierge for his opinion. He recommended it, so a table was booked. We were shown to a window table and enjoyed a spectacular view of the sunset over English Bay while eating great seafood. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Well done! Try the coconut shrimp starter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ianaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS sands just around the corner from here.
The had a good selection of beers on tap and the views over the bay were great.
I only had a burger to eat but I found the food good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank totpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I was expecting so much more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Service was good, description of the food sounded amazing, marinated salmon in maple, lobster ravioli which was the staffs favorite, well, this was probably the worst meal we've had in a long time. The fish was so dry it felt reheated and same with the pasta. The 3 of us were not impressed, it's a good thing the waitress did not ask if we enjoyed it. We got rid of the gift cards and will never return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Odile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Fun - Good Food, Great Cocktails and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for a "quick" drink Sunday afternoon - Cocktail experiment!! Then for dinner on the Tuesday evening. Both times had great fun and a good laugh with the Staff. Food was really good, wide choice and loads of it and reasonable priced wines.
... and - what a location - Sunday summer sun overlooking the Bay and the evening sunset - Fab!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing