We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“FANTASTIC VIEW !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegrill - CLOSED

Stonegrill
1661 Granville, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (West End)
604.637.0388
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West End
Cross street: Beach Avenue
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VIEW !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The concept of cooking your own meal on a 450 degree stone is pretty cool.
we enjoyed ourselves, the view was great. we made a point of going for lunch
and on a nice day to get the full enjoyment of the view.
The food was good but overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancovuer, BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the second time i have eaten here. It has been a couple of years since i have been here but thats my fault.

As i remembered the food and service was great, as well as the atmostphere and view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adamandtaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food but bad service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went to this restaurant last week for our parent's anniversary, The food was really good and the price was decent. I ordered petite fillet which was really soft and added $13 to get the soup, dessert and tea. However, the hostess that was helping us had no smile on her face. She looked like as she is mad at the world. When she was pouring wine for us, she had her feet crossed standing and leaned back as if she was at home. We had to asked her a few times to add more water to our glass. I was really disappointed at her service that night, The food was really good though. I would come back another time just for the food and hope she wouldn't be our hostess again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowwiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view with an added twist!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We took friends to this restaurant. It’s got a great view over the river. There is plenty of room and it’s lovely and chilled. The staff were friendly and did not rush us. Lots of great sea food and steaks to choose from which you can cook yourself on a hot stone. Food was good quality, and while more expensive than some places I feel good value.

Also just as a note, this is on the Downtown side of Granville right under the bridge ( our friends taxi took them to the wrong side originally).

Nice experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sherbs-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Novelty with a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We took guests from Ottawa to the Stonegrill. It was more for the entertainment value and waterfront view that allowed us to reconnect over a long dinner with friends. The server was most pleasant and informed.
It was unfortunate that 1-2 menu items that I ordered were unavailable. As our food was served and sizzled on the hot granite stones we enjoyed the portobello mushrooms, and mussels for an appetizer. Our guests ordered steak and salmon. Not sure how they would rate their experience.
The food was tasty, but the fish I ordered was very fatty and spattered throughout my whole meal from cooking till the time I finished. Good thing I had a linen napkin to protect my clothing.
Twice in 16 years will do for a long time. Our pocket book doesn't support the bill.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TopazBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonegrill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing