We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfy spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Belgian, International, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Comfy spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Warm and cozy pub.... food is good. Casual fare while you're shopping on the Drive. Service is good, don't mind the tatties

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sippinsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
496 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Why Rated so Low?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had GREAT service by Gavin, a superb beer list, and the food was amazing. the only downside was that -- like any good Belgian Mussel and Beer House -- it was REALLY loud. However, the Moules et Frites Normande was just amazingly great and my wife's Steak Frites was as good as she's ever had. Really a superb meal made even more special by the several beers we enjoyed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Evenings are better than brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We've been here many times in the late afternoon or evening and have always been impressed by the knowledgeable staff and the fabulous food. The specialty is their extensive Belgian beer selection and the ability of the servers to guide you through the maze according to your taste.

This visit was for brunch with the family and while the food and service were good, I found the menu to be limited and the atmosphere to be; neutral? It just didn't seem as happening as it usually does later in the day. Perhaps it was because the menu was similar to other brunches whereas the tapas menu is more of a social mood setter. Or maybe it was because we weren't sampling the Blonde's and Lager's.

Either way, my recommendation is to have breakfast somewhere else and then after a hectic day of whatever strikes your fancy end your day here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stella's renamed Biercraft, but still a fantastic place for a beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar is now Biercraft Tap and Tapas. It still has the same great atmosphere for a snack and a few beer. Great sit up bar, where you can watch the servers pour the many choices of draft beer, to the white cloth table service on the main and lower level. It can get a little crowded especially during the evenings and weekends. Their narrow outdoor patio is open whenever the weather is warm and dry. What I like best is that you can have a taste of a few of the draft beer on tap if you are uncertain on what to have. They also have a Beer Flight which offers 4 draft beer of your choice which comes all lined up in this wooden block tray, which is kind of fun. Their food, consisting of both tapas and entrees generally don't disappoint. Most definitely a step up from the regular pub fare food. Their food portions are not overly large. I took advantage of their "Prix Fixe Option' which is 2 or 3 courses at a reduced price. I started with 6 oysters (which the server couldn't identify) which were reasonably fresh, and came with lemon and a tangy red wine mignonette, and served on ice. The taste was very good, however, two of the oysters were noticeably smaller and less plum in their shells than the others. The entree was the Lamb Shank with carrots, garlic mashed potatoes and gravy (red wine demiglace). The presentation was very nice, served in a large white bowl, and sprigs of herbs sticking up from part of the mashed potatoes. The dish had a very good flavour, and the combination worked well. My friends and I decided to share a plate of the Green Beans from the Tapas menu. They were described as soy kissed with black and white sesame. They were flavourful and spicy; definitely Asian inspired. Very generous with the sauce. I would come back again especially because of the vast international beer selection they offer, the 2 - 3 course dinner deals, and the busy and casual atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra of Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - always enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We live in the neighbourhood, and have been going here on average about 6 times a year since it opened 6 years ago - and we always enjoy it. Service is excellent (only once in all that time did we ever have a problem), tapas are tasty (and suitable for vegetarians), beer selection fabulous, and wines quite decent. Always a great buzz inside, and the patio is fun in the warmer months.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers03_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Tap and Tapas Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing