We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great(!) beer, ok food”
Review of Steamworks

Steamworks
Reserve with OpenTable
Steamworks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Cordova & Seymour
Transit: We are directly adjacent to the Waterfront Station, which is convenient for all bus transit, sea bus and skytrain.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great(!) beer, ok food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went to Steamworks on a Saturday with a friend while in town for a convention. It was hectic and busy, so we had to wait a while for a seat, but once seated we were not rushed at all. The beers are the reason for going. They're great. The food was mediocre, although the fish tacos were better than the highly breaded Thai crab and shrimp cakes (don't go there - sounds great, less than tasty). Service was good for a place so boisterous. The food prices are very reasonable. I come to Vancouver fairly often for meetings, and Steamworks is one of my usual stops. If you love great beer, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    572
    191
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little better than average.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place is popular, especially the patio if it is nice out. It probably deserves 3.5 stars. The food is average pub fare, the beer is okay not great for a brewhouse. The service was excellent and it is a great place to people watch if you are on the patio.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good beer good food”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We went on our first evening in Vancouver, stumbled across this place, and were drawn in by the beer selection. I had a burger and my girlfriend had the chilli with a side order of fries. We both really enjoyed our food, however the extra fries weren't needed. The beer selection is wide enough to fit most tastes, we both enjoyed our beers.

Staff were friendly, service was quick and the atmosphere was friendly and buzzing, I think we would have enjoyed it more if we weren't on the tail end of a 22 hour day. Would recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location for drinks with spectacular view!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a couple of drinks when passing by after an active day researching areas to live in Vancouver.

We sat at a small bar immediately within one of the doorways and received excellent service throughout our stay there. All the beers on tap were explained to us and we were allowed to sample them in smaller glasses before committing to a pint! The bar staff entered into friendly conversation about our potential immigration to Vancouver and offered some brilliant practical advice.

The food is very good quality and portion sizes are sufficient! We returned more than once to this bar throughout our stay due to the relaxed nature of the service. There is no rush to order a meal and if you agree a 'signal' with your server, they will come back at your own leisure to take your order! The restaurant itself is huge!

The only issue is if you're dying for the loo prepare for a little walk to the bathroom! Although the decor in the toilets are quite spectacular!

One of the best things about this bar is the view, particularly at night time. There is a stunning view across to North Vancouver.

As mentioned before, we returned more than once to this bar and enjoyed every trip there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nursey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good standard brewpub”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Friendly place in a good location. Food and beers are decent. It's a nice place to meet friends and a good fit if you're in a brewpub mood. Nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank idonotlikeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Steamworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing