We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steamworks

Steamworks
Reserve with OpenTable
Steamworks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 3,680 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Cordova & Seymour
Transit: We are directly adjacent to the Waterfront Station, which is convenient for all bus transit, sea bus and skytrain.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose this restaurant mainly because we were exhausted and hungry and it was convenient to our location at the time. The four of us were very satisfied. It was a Saturday night at dinner time and we were afraid we might have a long wait. However, it is a large restaurant and we were seated immediately. We requested a table on the covered patio, and were lucky enough to get one. It was a beautiful evening and the weather was warm. As it got cooler, our server had the heater overhead turned on. This restaurant is very near the harbor at Canada Place. Unfortunately, sitting on the patio, you get a very nice view of Canada Place, but not the water...mostly parking lot. You may actually have a better view at an inside window. It is just at the edge of Gastown, so after dinner we enjoyed a pleasant stroll through the area. We are not beer drinkers, so I cannot help there. Our meals were all very good. Our server was very nice, but we did notice several people at other tables with issues (wrong order brought, check not correct). The servers all seem to be very young people and not very knowledgeable about the menu. Everyone was very friendly though. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and evening at Steamworks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bcbcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    558
    183
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vancouver City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Interesting place great beers brewed on site good food , well worth checking out for either lunch or dinner

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to come back too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice pub fair for the kids and good specials for the adults. Large atmosphere. Clean facilities. Friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Beer, but below average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This large restaurant is right on the edge of Gastown. First impressions were good, there tables outside which were full, and there was a good buzz about the place even though it was early in the evening. After declining a seat at the bar (we had our daughter with us), we were led into basement area near to some copper brewing tanks. No complaints about the table, we had a good view of the kitchen and were in an area heavily policed by waiters. Our server was very attentive but told us the bad news that three of the beers (including two of their own brews) had run out. Still he recommended a good tasty alternative and offered free tasters of the other beers on the menu. Unfortunately there the good news ends. The food was below average. I had a salmon and halibut platter which had two decent sized pieces of fish, but only small amounts of accompanying vegetables and rice. The fish was overcooked and dry. My wife had ravioli, which she said was tasty but varied in temperature from hot to cold depending on which part of the plate she sampled. Classic microwave mistake! Credit to the waiter, he exchanged it immediately but it left my wife waiting around for her main course. Both parts of my daughter's dish were deep fried, and that was fine. Overall, this was a disappointing experience. They have nearly all the ingredients for a great venue, but are let down by the food. My feeling is that the kitchen is geared towards knocking out the fast food favourites but lacks a bit of finesse for more demanding dishes. Mind you heating up some pre-cooked ravioli should not be too difficult! My recommendation would be to go there for the beer and atmosphere but stick to the burgers and fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank groverwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice one Brett”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very lively place with good beer and good food. Brett, our waiter, knew his stuff and was very knowlegable about the beers, wines and eating. Great service and a great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OwdMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamworks also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Steamworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing