We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fab little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophie's Cosmic Cafe

Sophie's Cosmic Cafe
Ranked #165 of 3,599 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was on vacation & a friend recommended Sophie's for breakfast. If you're passing by, you must go in! Sophie's is a fab little treat on the corner of Vine & you won't be disappointed. Great staff, great food & their pancakes are to die for! Amazing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    97
    37
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Solid Breakfast ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I got the Light Breakfast and it was exactly what I wanted. Two poached eggs, bacon, gluten free bread and the best fruit plate I've seen. You can tell they keep their food fresh and their staff happy.

Very much an enjoyable breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
470 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Worth a Detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a wonderful meal here my last day in Vancouver. As far as I can tell, this restaurant is sort of on the way from downtown Vancouver to the airport. It is well worth a detour, regardless! The service is efficient and friendly. The food is delicious. I appreciated the fact that both the breakfast menu and the lunch menu were available at 10:15. Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Would you like a side of love with your coffee? Go to Sophie's.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

During a weekend trip to Vancouver, I was enjoying my own coffee at Sophie's when a kind woman who was older than the rest of the wait staff brought a fresh pot for refills. "Is that Sophie?" I asked my waitress, and she confirmed. Then Sophie approached the table behind my son, who was greatly enjoying his pancakes, That table hosted five kids ranging in ages from kindergarten to elementary school. "Would you like some coffee?" Sophie smiled and asked the kids. "YUCK!" "GROSS!" "I HATE COFFEE" were the responses. Sophie smiled and responded, "You haven't been shown how to drink coffee correctly. I'll be right back."

The kids' parents, at a neighboring table, started to pay attention when Sophie returned with five mugs, a large bowl of half-and-half and another large bowl of sugar packets. She showed the kids how to fill each mug with four containers of half-and-half and about the same amount of sugar. Then she filled the remainders of the mugs with coffee. "Stir!" she coached. The parents did not intervene despite the prospect of caffeinated children on sugar rushes - I guess the parents' breakfasts were that good. "DELICIOUS!" "THIS IS GREAT!" "I LIKE COFFEE!" the kids told Sophie.

The caffeinated kids did not keep me from enjoying the delicious eggs benedict with salmon. In fact, the entertainment the Sophie provided that morning with my breakfast made this one of the best meals ever. Those kids will never forget when they first enjoyed coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisonJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Three of us went here for lunch and all had beautiful meals. The place is very cluttered and retro, the menu is a little different , but appeared to cater for vegetarian and gluten free. The meal size was generous, the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The place was very busy. The toilets were a little cramped and the one I used didn't lock.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cosmic Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sophie's Cosmic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing