We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food, interesting surroundings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Cosmic Cafe

Sophie's Cosmic Cafe
Ranked #156 of 3,537 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Three of us went here for lunch and all had beautiful meals. The place is very cluttered and retro, the menu is a little different , but appeared to cater for vegetarian and gluten free. The meal size was generous, the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The place was very busy. The toilets were a little cramped and the one I used didn't lock.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    96
    37
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“American diner ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This is quite a popular cafe with the locals.
It's interior is very funky with all sorts all over the walls and ceiling.
The menu is quite decent with many options including vegetarians ones.
Service is pretty good.
The food itself.. The portions are giants, sometime it's a little too overwhelming but you certainly get your money's worth.
Food isn't top notch quality but it is still nice. I have been many times and will continue to return.

Helpful?
Thank TheWanderlustGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I went there with my sister which was visiting from Panama, we really enjoyed our breakfast... 100% recommended!.... Very nice people attending and very tasty food...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank deydiarauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful diner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The food in this place is HUGE and seriously tasty. I had a burger and fries and it was delicious - seriously good quality burger meat and delicious fries. I thought it was pretty good value, plus you get to sit surrounded by crazy decor and fascinating artwork. Well worth a visit - really good food and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great cafe, right on the corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had some business in the area and stopped in for breakfast with a part of 5. Seated right away by very friendly wait staff. Breakfast was a diverse menu of standard fare of eggs, bacon, a couple of different options as well. I would suggest trying one of their specialties, if they are not on the menu, ask. Definitely worth a stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thexprt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cosmic Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sophie's Cosmic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing