We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Workday lunch date at Butcher & Bullock”

The Butcher & Bullock
Ranked #325 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: A pub in the time-honoured style, The Butcher & Bullock has been a popular hangout for the downtown business set for 20+ years. Dark brown wainscoting and aged black & white photos complement the room’s traditional furnishings and various conversation pieces. On weekdays, The Butcher & Bullock regulars crowd the comfortable room to loosen their ties, enjoy modern pub food, take in a game and just relax. The games area features a pool table, video games and a jukebox fully loaded with both new and classic tunes. The Butcher & Bullock also features 28 types of craft and domestic beer, custom cocktails and an extensive wine list.
vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Workday lunch date at Butcher & Bullock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been here many times...since it was Smiley's, that I loved as well...met a work friend for lunch..had the Thursday special...Steak & Frites...(+side of blue cheese...mmmm) it was delicious...fries are yummy little skinny lovely hot sticks...dipped in blue cheese all the better....steak was absolutely fantastic...perfect medium rare...tender and just a wonderful flavor...haven't had a steak this good a good while...pleasant surprise...you should go next Thursday and try for yourself...
Oh and my friend had the BC Salmon...ate it all up...looked fantastic too...but the steak...the flavor...oh the flavor was just awesome...
will be back soon...maybe next Thursday!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    24
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Found good bar and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

With a recommendation from the Days Inn staff next door, we tried Butcher & Bullock. While the crowds there were social drinkers from Vancouver's businesses, we got very good microbrews and surprisingly good food, so good that we came back the next evening and had a wonderful repeat delight.
The menu was interesting and the servings were delicious. The regular fries and the sweet potato fries were individually crisp, the salads, and sandwiches were excellent. Prices were very reasonable. Bar maids serve the food and they were attentive to our requests and effective. We will go again next time in Vancouver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
261 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Beers and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Popped into this pub for lunch on my own while my wife was attending a confernce. I was made to feel very welcome, given several different beers to try and enjoyed a couple of very fine, locally produced craft beers. The turkey sandwich provided a delicious light snack. I skipped the fries in favour of the salad.

Beware, some of the beers are very strong - 9% plus, so a bit heavy for lunch time. This pub is part of a chain, so if you go with reasonable expectations you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place has an excellent cocktail menu and tasty, surprising menu. I had the chicken & waffles. Here it is creatively served as a chicken cutlet on waffle bread sandwich. There must be some kind of maple and the chicken batter - the combination on the sandwich was amazing! I was even impressed with the side salad - apples, cheese, nuts, currants, yum!! Our waitress was completely friendly. An all around great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noelle315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It was just O.K”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dropped in here for lunch on a Friday afternoon.Nothing really blew us away. Standard pub food, good selection of beer however friendly staff. That said was a bit pricey can get better fair at other venues for less.

Wasn't surprised it was a chain owned bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher & Bullock also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher & Bullock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing