We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“3 1/2 stars - Classy dining in a beautiful garden setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaughnessy

Shaughnessy
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaughnessy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #389 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Cross street: 37TH AVENUE
Transit: SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS ON OAK STREET WHICH IS THE MAIN THROUGHFARE For MANY ARTERIES INTO OR OUT OF THE CITY. ON ROUTE FROM OR TO THE VANCOUVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OR THE US BORDER. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS 15 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN AND 15 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. TRANSIT BUS STOPS ARE LOCATED ONLY 2 MINUTES FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE GARDEN.
Description: SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS LOCATED IN THE SPECTACULAR VANDUSEN BOTANICAL GARDEN (A 55-ACRE TEACHING GARDEN). THE RESTAURANT WAS ORIGINALLY OPENED IN 1984 TO SERVICE THE MANY MEMBERS & GUESTS OF THE GARDEN, BUT IT SOON BECAME A POPULAR DINING ESTABLISHMENT AND HAS EVOLVED INTO A VANCOUVER LANDMARK. IT IS NOW A FAVORITE WITH LOCALS & TOURISTS ALIKE. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT OFFERS CONTEMPORARY COMFORT FOOD, PROFESSIONAL WARM SERVICE AND THE RIGHT MIX OF CREATIVITY AND COMMITMENT IN AN ELEGANT, RELAXED AND UNIQUE GARDEN SETTING. WE CATER TO A VARIETY OF EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR - WEDDING RECEPTIONS, ANNIVERSARIES, BIRTHDAYS, BAR/BAT MITZVAHS, FAMILY REUNIONS AND CORPORATE MEETINGS. EXCLUSIVE RESTAURANT BOOKINGS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE CAN ACCOMODATE A VARIETY OF GROUP SIZES UP TO 200 PEOPLE. THERE IS AMPLE FREE PARKING FOR CAR, PRIVATE COACH OR BUS. BOTH THE GARDEN AND THE RESTAURANT ARE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“3 1/2 stars - Classy dining in a beautiful garden setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I'm giving this place 3 1/2 stars. The view is amazing with all the trees and beautiful flowers around. The food was good but the serving was small for the price and the service was spotty. Our friends enjoyed their Paella and Lamb Sirloin. The hubby was craving for comfort food so he ordered mac+cheese which was tasty. I ordered the organic steelhead + seared scallops. I love the flavor of the food and the quinoa had good texture but again, small portion. We enjoyed the lemon tart dessert, it had the right balance of tart and sweetness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qhunnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were visiting the VanDusen Gardens (which is also wonderful, by the way), fully expecting to have lunch at a nearby restaurant. We saw the Shaughnessy and decided to give it a try. It was excellent, both food and service. It has a full menu, but we ordered from the brunch menu. I had the Eggs Benedict (many types to choose from) and my wife had the french toast. Both tasty and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WuliNuChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
785 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Very pretty but the food needs better attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This restaurant is at the pretty VanDussen Gardens. Parking can be an issue with weddings, special events, etc. The menu has been the same for years - would be nice to change it up a bit although they do have a limited daily specials menu. Service & atmosphere were very good. All presentations were nice. My Eggs Benny were okay except I could taste a slight vinegar taste on the poached eggs (from the boiling water I guess). My friend ordered the brunch special and I thought her portion was extremely small. We shared a lemon tart for dessert which I found to be way too sweet and not very tart. Very pretty restaurant and location but better attention could be made to the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had lunch at this I wonderful place yesterday and it was lovely. The food was freshly prepared and the service was friendly and attentive but not intrusive. My guest and I had ordered light meals , quiche salad for my friend and I had peppered albacore a Tuna nicoise salad and both were fresh and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“in the very nice Van Dusen garden.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

there Van Dusen botanical gardens are especially nice at this time of the year. all the colours of the blossoming flowers and trees provide a beautiful symphony of nature. the restaurant is nice, the service is correct but not too friendly and on a busy day,the noise level is too high. the menu is a bit limited and the food was ok but not breathtaking. i believe this restaurant has a big potential that is not yet realized. with some more effort the management cld turn this place to a real nice and excellent restaurant that fits the beauty of the Van Dusen park..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaughnessy also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shaughnessy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing