We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Thai Food”

Sawasdee Thai Restaurant
Ranked #277 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: South Main
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Thai Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food was good, but the price was kinda high for what they served.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank setjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Authentic Thai”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you are on main street and craving authentic Thai curries you have to stop off here!
What appears to be a little, unpretentious, almost tacky hole in the wall opens into a sizable space filled with lively happy conversation. Even though we had no reservation we chatted up the doorman, who turned out to be the original owers son and he soon found us a spot. Despite the crowd, service was fast and the waitress was very knowledgeable and friendly. We choose everything from the Chef's Specials and I was advised by my local friend to just order medium if I liked hot. Good advice! Most entries come with a choice of 3 different curry sauces, red, green and a pepper with 5 levels of intensity - nice options!
We started with a Tad Mun Pla deep fried Shrimp cakes which were rich and delicious and came with a flavourful cucumber salad.
The Pad Snow Pea Chicken was wonderfully done with crisp fresh pea pods in a spicy, hot red curry. The Choo-Chee Talay seafood combo was made with fresh prawns, squid, clams and fish. Wonderful soft spicy red coconut curry. Textures were just amazing and the flavours exploded in your mouth. Everything was just gorgeous. I expected we would be taking leftovers home given the portions but we cleaned up everything... it was just too good to not finish.
My only complaint was the small beer menu. They did have a Tai lager which was fine for the occasion but I would have loved an American India Pale Ale to compliment the spices.
We paid only $56.00 for an appetizer, 2 main course plates, a big bowl of rice and 2 beers. Very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanneih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Thai.”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Eaten here a couple of times, once in, once take out. Very good, no complaints. Would come back without hesitation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soap_In_The_Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ask for Nat”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a great family-owned and run restaurant on Main Street. Food is fabulous, is served quickly by friendly staff. I suggest visiting in a large group so you can add variety (different meats, veggies, seafood, and spiciness). Order one dish per person. Last night there were 5 of us, one was a newbie to Thai food. So we started off with the Satay Chicken appetizer (2 sticks per person) and then followed with Garlic prawns, Ginger beef, yellow curry with chicken and potatoes, broccoli, Pad Thai, and steamed rice. We don't count the rice as a dish; it's there to soak up the juices and add substance. The bill per person including tip was $45. That included 2 bottles of the Sauvignon Blanc white wine to complement the Thai cuisine. We chose Mild-Medium with the Pad Thai being the Medium.
We arrived at a busy time but fortunately, made reservations. Call and ask for Nat. There are 3 brothers and they go by Nat 1, Nat 2, and Nat 3 so you're bound to get one of them!
Being somewhat cozy, it can get a bit noisy as people think they need to shout to be heard across the table.
If you come by car, parking is metered so bring coins. Tip: if you are willing to walk a couple of blocks, you can escape the paid parking zone. Walking along Main Street and its many stores is interesting so consider this as part of your tour to build up your appetite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have eaten here dozens of times and brought many visitors. In particular we usually love the purple dumplings and Tom Yum soup. This time, we were really disappointed with both the quality of the food and the service. The dumplings were overly spicy without enough of the garlic oil on top and when I mentioned that my soup wasn't as good as usual (it was really bland), it was taken away to come back with floating red pepper flakes, excessively salty and the shrimp had gone from plump to shrivelled chewy cresents. It was inedible. We cancelled the rest of our order (which they hadn't started making yet) and although the server did appologize, nothing was done to make it up to us (we still paid for our wine and the dumplings). I can only hope this was a blip but we will not going back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee Thai Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sawasdee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing