We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive food, good people watching”
Review of Raincity Grill - CLOSED

Raincity Grill
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West End
Cross street: Davie Street
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Inventive food, good people watching”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a good meal here, picking mainly from the menu specials for the night.The food was inventive without being too high concept: a gazpacho-like tomato soup, wild mushrooms sauteed with lentils and frisee (especially good), grilled fish with various accompaniments. Our friends enjoyed the burgers as well. It was toasty in the sun on the deck, but the people-watching was great. The service seemed slightly harried but was sufficient. Interesting cocktails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    87
    40
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice place, we liked it! The kids just had a wonderful pasta with cheese and butter and they ate 2 plates each, and seen as we are Italian, this can be considered a great success! My husband and I had a delicious gazpacho and a wonderful fresh salad to start, a hamburger to continue and a glass of good wine. We enjoyed it. The only thing which we couldn't understand, sitting in the patio, the heating system was on but the evening was mild and pleasant. The heating was not necessary at all and for a restaurant caring for organic and quality, even quite environmntally unfriendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdeloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CT
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have had in Vancouver!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant is located by English Beach and has amazing sunsets. If you can time your meal with the sunset you will have an awesome experience. We had the Crab starter (amazingly fresh, sweet, tasty), along with Halibut, cooked both ways, fried with chips and grilled with an eggplant puree. You will be very happy with a meal from here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food and service ”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

we ate at Rain City Grill next to English Bay beach. (map wrong?). good food. prices reasonable. All was ok. good place

Helpful?
Thank saylorsam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. It shows that there can be good food found in restaurants in Canada, other than the typical diners and at a reasonable price too. As well as being really tasty the food was presented very well. The service was friendly and caring and not hurried. There were some good combinations of food offered. We were sitting outside and after the sun had set, it did seem very dark. I wish we had eaten here earlier in our trip because I am sure we would have come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raincity Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing