We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good....”

Poncho's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1,617 of 3,808 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Feel in Mexico right in the heart of Vancouver, in our cozy Ponchos Mexican Restaurant, enjoy the flavors and the music of Mexico, live music on weekends. Find a friendly service, and delicious meals prepared right from scratch Delicious desserts bake right here at Ponchos. Every one is welcome!!!!!!! OPEN MONDAY TO SUNDAY 3 TO 11 PM FRI, SAT. SUNDAY OPEN AT 1.00 PM TO 11.00 PM
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was good....”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I thought the drinks were good. My meal wasn't great, but I think maybe that was authentic mole'. Everyone else enjoyed their food. I just chose the wrong dish. I would try it again and get something different.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than we expected!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found a fine little Mexican restaurant on Denman Street-Poncho's. The place is easily found,only half a block off Robson Street, very close to downtown. We were greeted warmly by the staff, and quickly felt at home. The room looks truly Mexican with a variety of decorations appropriate to a Mexican restaurant. The food was served in good time and it was very tasty. The price was very affordable. The singer was excellent. My wife was serenaded with two of her favorite Mexican ballads. We were very impressed with the restaurant generally and will make a point of returning when we come back to Vancouver!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLeduc_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok mexican food, good entertainment”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

FIrst off I normally would not recommend Vancouver BC for mexican food but being that it was Cinco de Mayo and the restaurant was 2 blocks from our hotel we decided to give it a try. This is a fine place but the food was just ok. Kind of bland and lackluster. They had a great singer who provided entertainment for our 2 year old. He was a lot of fun. I wouldn't say stay away but like I said nothing special.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Being from Texas I know my way around Mexican food. This little spot in the West End of Vancouver made me feel like I was back in Dallas. The chips and salsa were spot on and the margaritas to start were tasty and packed a punch. I started with some prawns that were sauteed in garlic and spices, cooked to perfection and the portion was just the right size! Next I tried the beef alambres, a spicy beef skirt diced and sizzled up with cheese and bell pepper. The beef was so tender and juicy and the spices were not overwhelming. I wish I had room for dessert, from what I saw the presentation looked amazing as was the flaming coffee. The service was a little slow but the servers themselves were genuine and warm, everything a Mexican restaurant should be. When I go back to Vancouver I will make sure to say hi to Kaeta the owner and enjoy those amazing margaritas!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddelite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poncho's Mexican”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good food and ambience. Came here while we stayed at Robson's street. We missed out on the live singing as we came during his last performance. Overall, was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poncho's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Poncho's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing