We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food but unfriendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Thai Hoa Vietnamese Cuisine

Pho Thai Hoa Vietnamese Cuisine
Ranked #1,837 of 3,501 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok food but unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went a couple times as this is the nearest Viet restaurant from my work place. The menu has quite a bit of variety compare to other restaurant, the food is ok, nothing to rave about. But the most unforgettable thing is the staff. The first time I went, it was like going to a food court, except not having to take my food to my table, service is minimum. But it's lunch time and it's a low end restaurant, so I am ok with that. You get what you paid for. Second time I went, after I sat down, the waiter picked up 2 menus from next table, without saying anything, just drop them on our table and walked off. When the table next to us was ready to order, we signalled him to come by to take our order too. He just stood next to our table, gave us the annoyed stare as if we were detaining him for no good reasons. After he took our numbers, he just walked off without saying anything thru out the ordering process. I think we probably get better services in a food court than this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatmicmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible service !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our menu was thrown at us and when I made a mistake in picking the right number she practically yelled at me and tapped the menu several times as to what number I wanted. One tap would have sufficed. When asking a question she rudely said "what?!" My spring roll was deep fried beyond recognition and had no flavor. Will never go there again.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My Most Favourite Restaurant in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I discovered Pho Thai Hoa about 4 years ago and have been coming ever since. We have had just about everything on their menu and we have never been disapointed and I bring my clients here for lunch. Their pho is 2nd to none and the secret to any pho is the broth and this one is one of the best, as are all their dishes.
I have had clients come up from the US and taken them here for lunch and now everytime they arrive its a trip here for lunch. Recently they have added Vietnamese Sub sandwiches.......OMG to die for some of the best in the city.
Whenever you come to my Vancouver and if you want to try some of the best Vietnamese food please visit Pho Thai Hoa.............. I will see you there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brentwood-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Vietnamese soup restaurant in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Phoa Thai Hoa has the best Vietnamese food in Vancouver. The restaurant is usually clean. Definitey the best Pho and freshest in Vancouver. If I want Vietnamese this is the only restaurant I go to.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank queenm604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best pho on Kingsway, possibly in Vancouver.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great place, good value, the Pho is good but also try the Bo Ko beef stew with rice noodles, or the high-test viet coffee.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuckistani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Thai Hoa Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pho Thai Hoa Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing