We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty bad.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepitas Restaurant on Top

Pepitas Restaurant on Top
Ranked #1,949 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Granville
vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went cause a friend wanted to have her birthday here. All comments as per other reviews accurate. Chips and salsa small. Overworked waitress. One for whole place. Drinks served half full- told to balance the mix as glasses big??? And $6.99 for one! Use the whole chicken- so lots of dark meat. 2 in our party couldn't even eat there meals as so bad. We're charged 16% gratuity on top of bill and tax. Floor disgusting. Would never go here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terrynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing all round”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sorry to say, I was not impressed with much of anything here. Food was mediocre, the best part of my meal was the garnish. Table was sticky and one of the dishes had a big chip in it. Ambiance could have been much better for a Mexican restaurant as well. Vancouver has better choices for Mexican. The overworked waiter was friendly though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BubbaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice quiet lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to Pepitas on Sunday afternoon for a late lunch. We were the only ones there which was nice. The waitress was friendly. The owner came over and said hi. The food was excellent. We both had enchiladas, the plates were full. Salad, rice and beans came with the dinner. I would definitely return there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dani4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam, british columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food-authentic Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly and authentic restaurant! Live music on weekends and good drinks! Reasonable rates and good selection. Fish tacos are always On special. Salsa and chips free to start but a small portion with very little so-so salsa is provided. Not enough spicy peppers or good hot salsa seemed to be available - that would be my only complaint. Tabasco is provided - but that's not the same. Restaurantuers need to get out and see what the competition is serving to keep up. A good home- made salsa / guacamole will bring you back every time. The clam and mussel appy was excellent.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mexican Delight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I must admit we wondered into Pepitas because we couldn't get into Las Margaritas on Fourth Ave. in Vancouver. There was just too long a lineup and we were very hungry. I was also hot and thirsty, The first thing I did when arriving at my table was order a cold Corona and when it was presented it was ice cold and delicious. The Mexican food was so so compared to other restaurants we have tried. It was tasty but just lacked that extra oomph that makes it memorable, For instance the taco chips that arrive as a gratis appetizer were few, cold and stale. The dinners were alright but lacked the extra jack cheese that makes them delicious. All in all we enjoyed the evening but would propably not return..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepitas Restaurant on Top also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pepitas Restaurant on Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing