We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in two years in BC”

Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts
Ranked #59 of 3,975 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Cross street: Anderson
Transit: From downtown Vancouver, the #50 (False Creek) bus will take you right to our building at the corner of West 2nd and Anderson.
Description: Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts offers gourmet cuisine, in an elegant setting, prepared by the next generation of talented cooks. Our marina-view restaurant serves lunch and dinner, Monday to Friday. Choose from a variety of appetizers, entrees, and desserts prepared by our talented Culinary Arts and Baking & Pastry Arts students under the watchful eye of our European-trained chef instructors. Monday through Thursday - Join us for 'Market Menus' and enjoy a three-course fixed priced menu with choice of appetizer, entree and dessert. Fridays - Feast on our 'West Coast Buffet'. ***PLEASE NOTE: Please note that effective April 2, 2013, Bistro 101 prices will be as follows: 3 Course Lunch (Monday - Thursday): $203 Course Dinner (Monday - Thursday): $26Lunch (Friday - West Coast Buffet): $22Dinner (Friday - West Coast Buffet): $33Please note that the 12% HST will be replaced with the 5% GST at this time as well.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I could rave all day about our lunch today at Bistro 101! This is the best restaurant meal we have had on over two years in BC, by a very long way.
The room is lovely- calm, relaxing and having a nice view of the marina.
The food was impeccable. Seafood succulent, soup velvety, lamb just pink and tender, desserts surprising, beautiful and delicious.
The horrendous over seasoning (presumably catering to the Canadian palate) that has ruined almost every meal we have had in BC was joyously absent here. Seasoning was delicately done and allowed the food to shine.
Everything was delivered hot and timed well, with attentive, but not intrusive, service.
One recent reviewer reckons
this is not in Vancouver's
top 50. Ignore that completely! We have eaten at Michelin starred restaurants in the UK on multiple occasions, so we know good cooking when we taste it, and nothing in Vancouver has impressed us in the slightest, until
today at Bistro 101.
If these young chefs graduate to their own establishments in a couple of years, then the future is bright for diners in this city.
Congratulations on a fine job to everyone involved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank folkcougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you so very much for this fantastic feedback. We very much appreciate this and pass it along to our students and their instructors as a part of their learning. We do hope you revisit us in the future and will continue to strive for excellence. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 209 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved it... the food, the ambiance, the service, the coffee!!!!... check out the review and the video... http://k-o.me/blog/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KJAERNELETIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this feedback! Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came here as a couple on a Tuesday evening for a birthday celebration. It was surprisingly quiet, but the waiter informed us it was unusual. Many last minute cancellations (probably due to the heavy rain). He strongly recommends you reserve.

Well I must agree with all previous reviewers. Just a great place for a romantic dinner for two. The decor is nice and chic, but with a cozy feel also. The students alternate in various departments, so some of them are in the kitchen and some doing waiters. They're quite cute, as they are very shy, but give excellent service. They're maybe a little slower than experienced waiters, but that didn't bother us.

The food itself was terrific. It was nice to see a choice that was created by the students. Well presented and well cooked. If I were to be picky, I would say the fish could have been a tad less cooked, but it was still good. You gotta give them credit for trying. The portions were fair, but if you have a big appetite, they might be a little small. There is a big basket of a variety of fresh bread, so that helped me scoop up all the sauce.

The price was probably the 2nd best part of the meal. 26$ + tax for a 3 course meal.

And we got a little extra something for the birthday partner. A plate with "happy birthday" written on it in chocolate, with a few truffles. Very nice touch.

All in all, a great overall experience. And for a good cause.
note: you can see what they're doing on the TV too. very nice.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happy_stomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Hello, thank you so much for this feedback and extensive review of our school's bistro! Thank you, too, for supporting our institute. We're glad we could make this birthday dinner special. We do hope you return and join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I almost didn't write this review, because I don't want everyone and their brother to come here so that we won't be able to get in again. This was truly one of the best meals we've had in the Vancouver area. Just walking in to be greeted by the delightful maitre d' set us up for a fantastic experience. The setting was elegant Vancouver, the tables spaced far enough apart that we were barely aware of the other diners. We were presented with edible works of art, that tasted delicious. Each of us ordered something different, all of the highest caliber. And the desserts -- ooh, the desserts! The student chefs really do themselves proud, and their teachers are to be truly commended on their fine efforts with these dedicated and enthusiastic young people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaMonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review. Our students always appreciate this feedback. We do hope you join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Have been wanting to visit this restaurant for a long time and was excited to meet a new friend there for lunch. The room itself is elegant, welcoming and serene, perfect for lunch to get to know someone. We were overwhelmed by the choices at the generous buffet. Each appetizer alone would have been a wonderful treat, but to sample so many…heaven. Students were busy replenishing and refreshing, so if I hadn't know our entree' was coming, the appetizer buffet would have been enough. Beautifully plated and perfectly cooked, the entree's arrived. Once again we were surprised by the variety and generous servings. Along with the delicious lunch we enjoyed a glass of wine, thoughtfully suggested by one of the student servers. Most of our lunch was spent deep in conversation, meanwhile our service was consistent and thoughtful. When it was time for dessert we were once again directed to the buffet table, our choices were as beautiful as they were delicious! My friend has an egg allergy, when it was mentioned to our server…a stunning custom dessert was presented just for her. For the price point, there are few places that could match the ambiance and quality of food. Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JustAPinchofGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi! Thank you for joining us at Bistro 101 for our West Coast Buffet, and for taking the time to leave us this review. We're glad that the quality and selection of food & wine bookended by our students' service made for a wonderful dining experience for you and your friend. We'll be sure to pass this feedback along to our students and instructors. We hope to see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing