We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful value”

Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts
Ranked #251 of 3,942 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Granville Island & Fairview
Cross street: Anderson
Transit: From downtown Vancouver, the #50 (False Creek) bus will take you right to our building at the corner of West 2nd and Anderson.
Description: Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts offers gourmet cuisine, in an elegant setting, prepared by the next generation of talented cooks. Our marina-view restaurant serves lunch and dinner, Monday to Friday. Choose from a variety of appetizers, entrees, and desserts prepared by our talented Culinary Arts and Baking & Pastry Arts students under the watchful eye of our European-trained chef instructors. Monday through Thursday - Join us for 'Market Menus' and enjoy a three-course fixed priced menu with choice of appetizer, entree and dessert. Fridays - Feast on our 'West Coast Buffet'. ***PLEASE NOTE: Please note that effective April 2, 2013, Bistro 101 prices will be as follows: 3 Course Lunch (Monday - Thursday): $203 Course Dinner (Monday - Thursday): $26Lunch (Friday - West Coast Buffet): $22Dinner (Friday - West Coast Buffet): $33Please note that the 12% HST will be replaced with the 5% GST at this time as well.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would recommend this to locals and tourists planning a morning at Granville Island, followed by a delicious relaxing lunch. This is a quiet, spacious, calm room in which to linger over coffee and dessert , with a lovely view. Trainee chefs act as your servers and you can also see the action as your choices are prepared in the kitchens. Service is low key and professional and the plated offering are beautifully plated. It is a bargain compared to most other high end restaurants in the city. We have been enjoying special lunches a at PICA for many years and have never been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We can't say thank you enough for your continued patronage of our Bistro. The support and feedback you give our students is the extra boost they need as they prepare for their journey ahead into the industry. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 207 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate here on our anniversary and were not disappointed. The crab cakes and beet salad were wonderful, the mains, Beef Wellington and Pork Loin were also delicious. The timing between courses was perfect and the waitress was so helpful and sweet. We could not have asked for a better meal or experience. The dessert of German Apple cake w/ cream cheese frosting was also a treat. The price for the 3 course dinner was perfect, $26 pp, drinks not included.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello! First and foremost, thank you so much for choosing Bistro 101 as your venue to celebrate a wonderful milestone in your life. Thank you so much for your feedback - our students and instructors strive hard to bring the best dining experience possible to our guests. Belated Happy Anniversary, and once again, thank you! We hope to have you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have a group of 10 on a Wednesday night, the service was good and food - excellent, this is the 3rd or 4th times I've been to this restaurant, and never had a bad service or food, the price is affordable, will definitely go back again, may be next time go on Friday to try their buffet..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LuvTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for joining us (again)! We appreciate this feedback so much. We hope you can come by for a buffet sometime soon - they do book up 4-5 weeks in advance, sometimes, so make sure to book ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friday night is buffet night for appetisers and desserts. Tasting menu for mains.
Excellent choice for the buffet. Great mains of salmon, pancetta wrapped chicken, scallops very well cooked).
Good sweets selection. Reasonable wine selection.
Really enjoyed it.

Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate it and we definitely hope you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a delight to see a cooking school in action and to enjoy talk to students who are beginning their culinary careers. Our server was eager and friendly. The food was top quality and the view and atmosphere could not be beat. Keep up the good work!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timbog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picachef, Manager at Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thanks for spending your evening with us! We hope you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bistro 101 at Pacific Institute of Culinary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing