We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”
Review of Mosaic Grille

Mosaic Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mosaic Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #340 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Georgia Street
Transit: Our restaurant is conveniently located across the street from the Burrard Skytrain Station. Located at Burrard and Georgia Street, there are several different transit routes to get to our location.
California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Fine food, in the Hyatt Regency Vancouver. Sustainable fare, very tasty and elegantly prepared. Also a good value.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good hotel food, on the expensive side (like all hotel food)”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Breakfast buffet is very expensive although a wide variety of foods. It would benefit from some more lunch selections on the weekend. $26 is steep if it's not on an expense account. Good, efficient, friendly service. Had good burgers there yesterday for lunch, great buns, crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, fresh hot fries. Quick friendly service, automatic refill on soft drinks without asking. All in all a good experience. It was very busy in there, so reflective of food and service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie_calgarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Like the reviewer below we went because of a Travelzoo coupon. We didn't realize when we reserved that it was Dine Out - which we usually avoid like the plague. The restaurant was very busy when we arrived and we asked the Maitre D' if we could sit at the bar for a while until some of the crowd left. He was very accommodating. When we were seated, we noticed that the lighting was at full blast and it gave the restaurant a White Spot feel. But that was our only complaint of the night. The food was excellent: Crab Cakes, Charcuterie, Salmon and Venison as good as any we've had. The wine list, though small was varied and offered many by the glass. Our server , Kelly, was simply excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plusvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited this restaurant using one of the travelzoo vouchers. Our meal was delicious starting with the crab cakes. I have had crab cakes before but none to equal these. I chose the wild cod for a main which was cooked to perfection. The chocolate cake was also very good and the portion was so generous it took me 2 more meals to finish it. The "doggie bag" was also interesting and reusable.
Our service was 5 star, I would definitly return for another meal and have recommended it to others.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patriciamarkwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A fairly typical restaurant hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I ate three meals at Mosaic over the course of my stay and generally had good experiences all times.

My first meal was comprised of a quesadilla and Stella Artois. The quesadilla was definitely a Canadian take on the classic dish, but it was more than satisfying. The attentive service- at the bar- made it all the more enjoyable.

For my second meal, I had a seafood chowder. The seafood, specifically the salmon, was flavorful. I also had the highly recommended chocolate cake. It was truly an experience. I highly recommend it.

For my last meal, I booked the breakfast buffet. Among the offerings were eggs benedict, bacon, sausage, ham, croissants, rugalech-like pastry, fruits, cheese, bagels, and muffins. The sausage, croissants, grapefruit were among my favorite offerings. The eggs benedict were pretty average, the muffins on the dry side, and the belgian waffles, cold. Even though I was disappointed by the food I recognize that there were some good dishes and that the sheer number of people in attendance meant that food had to be prepared quickly. I just wish there were more substantial standouts on the menu.

When I go back to Vancouver, I will certainly eat at Mosaic again; I just won't have the breakfast buffet.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Grille also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Mosaic Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing