We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Crocodile

Le Crocodile
Ranked #5 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Montreal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Been to many the top French restaurants all over the world so coming in expectations were average, especially looking at the online menu.
We chose this restaurant because we love French food and reviews put it as the best one in Vancouver and it was very close to our hotel and able to walk back after our meal.

The location was not obvious, but from start to finish the experience was absolutely wonderful!
The staff, although quite young, were all great, professional and so knowledgeable. Exactly what you would expect from a top French Bistro.
The list of daily specials was longer than the actual menu and had all our french favorites. Too many choices, decisions were gut wrenching ;)
La Tarte Tatin was amazing, its my all time fave and was one of the best I ever had. Luckily is was a small portion.

Would go back 100% if ever in Vancouver again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    129
    37
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French Fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the best restaurants we've ever been to. I have heard many good stories about Le Crocodile so it was perfect when we had some family come to stay. We booked ahead and when we arrived were shown to our table. Elegant and simple, the smells wafting about were fantastic. The waiters were friendly and knowledgable and the wine list pleased my husband. My scallops were cooked to perfection and all the other dishes were delicious. Loved the chocolate crocodile how clever. Wonderful evening, authentic French style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,191 reviews
858 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Genuine French Food, American Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful dining area, tables well spaced for pleasant conversation. Warm welcome and attentive service. Long wine list with many good choices. Complimentary tarts to start, potato sticks, and "to die for" pear sorbet in pear liqueur. In between exquisite fresh bread and butter. We shared a pate de foie gras duo of terrine and mousse - truly outstanding. My main of fresh caribou and small lobster tail was magnifique. The farm raised caribou was as soft and buttery as the finest filet, without a hint of gaminess. The pairing with lobster was inspired. My wife's lobster and shrimp tagliatelle was superb. We had no room for dessert. All in all, an outstanding meal for the price one would anticipate for such a fine meal, so well-served, in such a lovely ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you love French dining, this is a must in BC. We had the locally sourced Caribou and Duck, perfectly prepared. The service was warm and attentive, the ambiance inviting. This is what all French restaurants should aspire to become. Simply exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IshPatrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just took a business colleague to Le Crocodile for lunch. The food was fabulous. I had scallops with black linguine, my associate, chicken breast with risotto. We were given a complimentary appetizer of melt-in-your mouth pate de fois gras tarts, also complimentary potato straws with main course, and complimentary cantelope sorbet after the main course. We had incredibly tasty strawberries (with a hint of mint) for dessert and a wonderfully rich chocolate mousse. Too much food! Alas, we were quite unable to eat it all. We also had wine and the bill for all this was under $100. The service was perfect but never intrusive. Will come back soon for a romantic dinner. BTW the decor is wonderful too. Looks very much like some of the French and Belgian bistros we dined at while in Europe. Highest recommendation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Crocodile also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Le Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing