We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Crocodile

Le Crocodile
Ranked #8 of 3,511 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Part of the reason I love this restaurant is because I really like Alsatian food especially Fois Gras. But THIS restaurant has taken traditional French food and made it unique to Vancouver with lots of seafood and a fresher approach. The restaurant has been operating for more than 35 years and is still busy, a testament to its good food! I recently took a group of international colleagues there, all folks who travel and eat around the world then they Loved it. One comment was " a party in my mouth". Then they made plans to go back with their spouses.

Everyone was very happy with the food and the service and it is less expensive than many restaurants which do not have such wonderful food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    115
    32
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful meal in an elegant setting! The Amuse Bouche and peach sorbet were a nice touch!

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful French dining experience in the heart of Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Wow! We have have some great meals on this Canadian trip but this lunch time visit was something else. True French cuisine cooked to perfection. Those heavy, rich, smooth cream sauces that only the French do well and which our health advisors are so critical of but, hey, once in a while is OK, surely? The amuse-gueule was an interesting foie-gras "creme brulee", which was very tasty. Halibut was just in season and was wonderful in the above-mentioned cream sauce topped with two huge, fat, tempura fried prawns. My wife's sea bass was just as good. Our starters of white asparagus with scallops.... mmmmmmm. As for the rest of the family, I was too absorbed to notice in detail what they ate but sounds of contentment came from all sections of the table. The server was extremely attentive and her knowledge of each dish was extraordinary and could only have come from trying them all - lucky or what? They were accommodating too in that the chef proposed a different sauce for one venison dish to avoid an allergy problem - not all kitchens are prepared to do this kind of thing. Truly a wonderful experience of high-end cooking.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have visited Le Crocodile for the last 3 years when we visit Vancouver. Very professionally run great atmosphere good quality food excellent service. A fine dining delight in the heart of Vancouver, can't wait until next year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Getabout01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Because of the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

It's all about the food. We visited Le Crocodile last evening for a birthday celebration and couldn't have been happier. We decided to start with one of their champagne cocktails, as this was a special evening. The meal kicked off with a complementary amuse bouche of asparagus and mushroom tartlets. My starter of duck foie gras terrine with sauternes jelly melted in the mouth. My husband's asparagus salad came with luscious shavings of Parmesan cheese. I chose another starter as a main - the lobster tempura and seared scallop salad with lemony frisee. The seared beef my husband chose came in such a giant portion that we took half of it home for later. We chose two of their special deserts - a warm apple tart tatin and a Grand Marnier souffle that was so good i wanted to lick the serving dish to get the last bits. The cute chocolate crocodiles were a lovely finishing touch. Service was excellent and the hostess had my coat waiting at the door. The only objection is that the room is large and it was quite noisy when we arrived, particularly as there were several large groups seated near us. The room quieted later in the evening. I have been here before and the food and service are always excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Crocodile also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Le Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing