We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine - no whines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
Reserve with OpenTable
La Terrazza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #474 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: Find us one block from the Yaletown Canada Line station.
vancouver BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great wine - no whines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The wine list is superb. The food equally so. The service makes it 3 for 3.
Somewhat a hidden Vancouver gem that is WELL worth the short trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcryan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“INTIMATE AND APPETIZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lovely location with private patio and classic appointments. Wine ‘cellar’ selection was vast - you can browse the bottles through glass walls - very impressive! The chef has a fine hand with herbs. Best Caprese ever!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing ad hoc wine pairing and tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

As visitors to Vancouver, we wanted a unique experience, and La Terrazza over-delivered. We walked to La Terrazza to enjoy a nice dinner while our son went to the Canucks hockey game nearby, hoping to get a great wine pairing / tasting menu, and were blown away.
The restaurant is beautifully decorated with fabrics, colors, and textures that made me feel like I was back in Italy. The wine list is a huge book which I flipped through for entertainment; it emphasizes a wide Italian collection of course, but France and California were well represented and there were good selections from around the world at different budget levels.
They were only offering the Tasting Menu listed on their website for prearranged groups, but our excellent server Teresa offered to make a tasting menu with wine pairings by hand, on the spot. She let us pick the dishes we liked from the menu, and brought them split with perfect wine pairings, all Italian bottles I had never heard of, including some rare grape varietals. The Carpaccio, Linguini Pescatore, and Arctic Char were a dream, and we were never rushed to leave during the 3 hours we enjoyed, waiting for the hockey game.
Highly recommended! Be sure to ask for Teresa if you are looking for a wine paring experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningFaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Professional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

The title says it all.
All of our food was great (sablefish, char, lamb), great cocktail list, didn't even attempt the wine list which looked extensive, desserts were great...
Beautiful room, and I think I'd find a way to go back and hang out in the lounge/bar area if I could.
Service was attentive and professional and our servers always found a way to come at exactly the right time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Refined Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

La Terrazza Mama Mia what a lovely restaurant from floor to ceiling and the biggest and most colourful flower arrangements I've seen outside of the Vatican. This is Andrea Botecelli for the taste buds. It all comes together from the moment you walk in a sense of 'this is going to be GREAT' quietly envelopes you, from the polished floor, roman columns and classic paintings. The menus arrive, eyes dart from crab to carpaccio, peppered seared Ahi, grilled quail, oh yes the ever present pan seared fois gras, & veal medallions (mine were so tender I could have cut them with my fingers). And the wine list, one of the most comprehensive, if a bit over done, in the city. We savoured the long legs, rich body & ruby red colour of the '94 Primitivo - the 'original' Zinfandel. Hey why pay $300 (unless money is no object) when you can sing and dance first class all the way to Italy & back for $34. And hats off to whoever chose their wine glasses - classic. A round of Calvados, frothy cappuccino's and a few of their now famous Chocolate Lava Cakes, that'll blow the lid off any choco-holic, let alone Robert Downey Jr. or Mt. Vesuveus for that matter. Refined Italian dining for a delectable evening to remember.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChipsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing