We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food but VERY uncomfortable lounge dining...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kobe Japanese Steak House

Kobe Japanese Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Kobe Japanese Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #428 of 3,599 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food but VERY uncomfortable lounge dining...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

...a very soft, low couch and a very small, low solid table that the food was served on, we were doubled over to eat! The food was very good but we were told "they were running low" (at 5 pm)
on the only item we really wanted two of, the Travelzoo voucher we used was not as "advertised".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingteri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    84
    47
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome service and lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ate here and had a booking and glad we did as it was very busy....and it does not take long to see why......the service is awesome and entertaining and the food is stunning.....
We had all sorts from prawns/scallops/beef etc......all cooked to perfection
One of the best Teppan Yaki restaurants around!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peterhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
924 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Fast and good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Kobe's has been around a very long time...I was a kid last time I was there. Thanks to a Travelzoo deal my wife and I visited the Kobe Izakaya Lounge. The restaurant is up stairs. Had reservations(a need to have, even on Wednesday) for eight o'clock. Seated right away and served immediately. The voucher lets us pick six items off the appie menu. The food that passed us looked awesome, the food we eat was exceptional. The Tuna Avocado Salsa is a must! We also had the short ribs,(tender but very sweet ) chicken karrage, ebi mayo...very good, spicy tuna roll...and it was! Finishing off with the sashimi ... Very good even though a few chewy pieces. There is a extensive wine/beer/saki list best buy a whole bottle as the 'by the glass' prices range from 7 to 12 dollars. I also had a Mai Tai (9.50$).....if you like rum you will like this. I like rum! In the lounge there are low tables for small groups....very dark setting: walls, celling, and furniture are either black or brown to go with the low lighting. The food is very good but it is very expensive. Our bill would have been 87 dollars. Our servers where polite and quick. One of the bar tenders lacked personality...it was a hard ship for her to ring our tab through. I did appreciate the clean washrooms! We will be back next week as we have one more voucher left!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My title says it all. When looking for a new-er dinning experience Kobe is the place to be. I found this place by exploring the entertainment Vancouver book for new restaurants to try.

We (my girlfriend and I) ate upstairs. If your not eating in a group of 8 or 10 you'll probably be seated with people you don't know. Make friends, it makes the evening that much better.

The food was good, i mean really really good and leaves you feeling full. Not because your eating large amounts of food but because your served a little here and there.. Your pretty much eating little bits for the first 40 mins and then your main course arrives. on average with out a discount your looking at about $40-$50 a person.

Your paying for dinner & entertainment for about an hour. I wish it was a tad cheaper but regardless we loved it and plan on going back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dbg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a fun night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

A pretty original spot in Vancouver. Make sure to make time to have a drink and appy in the bar downstairs -the "Special Mai Tai" will knock your socks off! The food is great and the Chef's are so much fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese Steak House also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kobe Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing