We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent standards - high as per Kirin quality”

Kirin Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #785 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Consistent standards - high as per Kirin quality”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I typically would only venture to this Kirin on a weekend dim sum outing as this location is not in the downtown core of Vancouver as it is located in City Centre Mall near Vancouver City Hall. Each time I visit I am always satisfied as the dim sum is top quality as per Kirin standards. Everything from the shrimp rice rolls, congee, noodle dishes and assorted dumplings are top notch.

Make a reservation as it seems that this restaurant is always packed on weekends. Parking is free for 2 hours with validation provided by the restaurant. There is ample parking in the mall but tends to be busy as shoppers at the Safeway and gym goers to Steve Nash Fitness World gym provide a steady in and outflow for use of parking lot. Not really an issue as the restaurant is located at other side of the mall than Safeway and Steve Nash Fitness World.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank androidmilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    73
    24
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“They keep the Kirin Quality”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Of the 3 Kirin restaurants available in Greater Vancouver, this one is usually not on my visit list largely because of parking issue and also away from my home. But still, I have visited it before and today found their food quality is still in line with Kirin quality. Located inside the City Centre, their parking lot is big but always full. They offered 2 hours free parking. Service is good. A nice place to go if you are close to that area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hongkongboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Vancouver establishment”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Tucked on the top floor of the City Square Shopping Centre, is a restaurant that I frequent for family dinners and weekend dim sum. First off, make a reservation. That is a must. Just too long of a wait, if you don't. The food is well-prepared and well-presented. There are often special "meals" that have a preset number of dishes that have a number of options. Very similar to a set menu. These "meals" are often good starts for a variety of food types and to include soup and dessert as well. Dim sum is above average, and I do agree with other reviewers that there are some better value out there, but for its location in the center of the city with ample parking in the mall (that gets validated), and ease of access from public transit, it's a top choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianwychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kirin Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Delicious food but always busy. Don't expect to get a table unless you have a reservation. The food is well presented and also decently priced... but I usually have dim sum at other locations which are cheaper. This is a little too pretentious for my own taste.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Kirin sadly overrated”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We came to Vancouver just for the dim sum and chinese food. Really. Kirin's is reputed to the best of Vancouver, but their dim sum is probably just average by Vancouver (and Hong Kong) standards (and very good most anywhere else). We did the "standards" - har gow, sui my, fried taro root dumpling, and a few others like shrimp paste in egg plant and crab meat dumpling in soup. None were outstanding or memorable in any way -- in fact, the taro root was plain disappointing. Koi Palace in San Francisco is far, far better and a lot closer to my home. Jade Seafood in Richmond, and Sun Sui Wah in Richmond were both much much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirin Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kirin Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing