We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,531 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian, Soups, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Description: In keeping with the reputation of the man whose name we adopted, Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House has achieved legendary status in Vancouver. For 30 years, Joe Fortes has consistently earned and maintained its reputation as an award-winning Vancouver restaurant. Guests from the world over have come to expect a dynamic culinary experience in this San Francisco styled seafood grill that always delivers more - more hospitality, more variety and more buzz. This iconic Vancouver restaurant is conveniently located just off of bustling Robson Street. Joe Fortes is where locals and visitors alike come to enjoy the food in town, complemented by an award-winning wine list that boasts over 300 wines, and a uniquely personal level of service and hospitality. Quality, service and reputation - that's the stuff that we are made of. And that's what you can look forward to experiencing on each and every visit to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House. We look forward to serving you.
Ten Boer
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is a popular restaurant on Thurlow Street, just between Alberni and Robson. The sunday evening we ate there it was busy, as it was most of the time I passed by. The food served is good, the atmosphere OK. On the other hand, it is not spectacular either. Just good value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,671
    812
    249
    88
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's a big place, but decorated in a way that you don't feel it. Food is really excellent, and the service is very cordial and efficient. Good value/quality ratio.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lavivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
496 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The concierge at our hotel suggested this restaurant for its wonderful seafood and steaks. Well, he was spot on, as Joe Fortes offers fabulous food. Three of us had seafood which everyone loved. I had a steak and it was filled with wonderful flavor. Service was a little slow, but with good food and conversation, it didn't matter. The restaurant is very, very loud. If you want to be able to talk or hear yourself think, I suggest you make a reservation for the garden deck. Otherwise, everything there will be awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very fine seafood. I had great halibut cheeks, and my wife ate a special with salmon and scallops, both of which were perfect. The waiter advised that the seafood is better than the steaks, so that's why we ordered as we did. Very nice wine-by-the-glass menu, and a fine Caesar salad, which is definitely sized for sharing. Very professional and attentive service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turneraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Terrific meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We hit Forte's for a dinner on Saturday night. Needless to say, it was quite crowded. But we were vigilant and grabbed some of the sidewalk seats. Got service immediately that was terrific. Watching the action outside was a lot of fun and surprisingly few walking by seemed to notice us. I expected more interactions with the pedestrians.

The food was delicious. I had the halibut cheeks on our waitress' recommendation. They were prepared in a mouthwatering cream sauce and there was a plentiful serving of them. My companions had the steak and the bouillabaise and both were very happy with their choices.

But the real treat was a chance to talk with Frenchy, the maitre'd. We were treated like royalty and he checked back on us at least five times during the meal. Lots of fun conversation to add to the splendid meal. I sent several fellow travelers there for dinner and all agreed that it was a terrific restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing