We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 3,516 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian, Soups, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Description: In keeping with the reputation of the man whose name we adopted, Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House has achieved legendary status in Vancouver. For 30 years, Joe Fortes has consistently earned and maintained its reputation as an award-winning Vancouver restaurant. Guests from the world over have come to expect a dynamic culinary experience in this San Francisco styled seafood grill that always delivers more - more hospitality, more variety and more buzz. This iconic Vancouver restaurant is conveniently located just off of bustling Robson Street. Joe Fortes is where locals and visitors alike come to enjoy the food in town, complemented by an award-winning wine list that boasts over 300 wines, and a uniquely personal level of service and hospitality. Quality, service and reputation - that's the stuff that we are made of. And that's what you can look forward to experiencing on each and every visit to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House. We look forward to serving you.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great food and service at a reasonable price ( for Canada) loved being up on the rooftop terrace and great ambience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyEvs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,624
    786
    243
    82
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“During happy hour in the bar you won't get better value for money anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel and we are so glad we went. It was a beautiful day and do we asked for a table in the veranda. We went between 4-6pm which is their happy hour and had a tapas style meal between three of us. The oysters are the largest and tastiest we have ever had. The onion rings are fantastic and must be tried. If you like shrimps they are huge and cooked to perfection. Can't recommend the happy hour experience enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Joe Fortes is my "go-to" spot when I'm meeting with out-of-town work colleagues, either for lunch or dinner. Primarily due to its proximity to my office, but let's face it - the food is damn good and the service is impeccable.

Lately, I've been sticking with my favourites for lunch (Jumbo Prawn Cocktail & Cobb Salad) but I've had many of their dishes and can attest that pretty much any item on the menu is worth trying at least once. Their seafood is as fresh as can be, and their selection of oysters is impressive.

I love that they also offer a "Blue Plate Special" for lunch during the week, which means that it's pretty much just as affordable to eat at JF as it is to eat at the nearby food court. They offer a daily special for under $10, which includes fresh bread and their famous lobster oil for dipping. You can't go wrong!

They also have an amazing brunch on the weekends, featuring a great selection of eggs benedict options, with my favourite being the "Westcoast Benny" with avocado and shrimp. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant - just go and try for yourself! If you're going in the summertime, you must try to get a seat on their garden rooftop patio!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nelliebobellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must try when in Vancouver especially if you love oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant grabbed our attention as they were promoting $1 happy hour oysters. So on our first visit we chose to sit for dinner not knowing sit down dinners were not part of happy hour. But to our delight discovered there were many varieties of Canadian oysters only available during sit down service. We tried 6 different varieties of oysters and aussies let me admit that Canadian oysters are amazing! So creamy sweet and ocean fresh. We also had halibut and nova scotian scallops. Drool. We of course came back the next night to take advantage of happy hour and had 50 oysters for $50. They also have this amazing cocktail called joe's signature Caesar.. sublime! The service and atmosphere was all very charming and inviting. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissXTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We ate late on night after flying in so were tired. Both food and service were very good, we can recommend the fish and chips. Try and get seated up in the higher section at the back with the booths rather than the front section near the street. Decoration is nice and it had a good atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AandM5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing