We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great service”

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,778 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Description: In keeping with the reputation of the man whose name we adopted, Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House has achieved legendary status in Vancouver. For 30 years, Joe Fortes has consistently earned and maintained its reputation as an award-winning Vancouver restaurant. Guests from the world over have come to expect a dynamic culinary experience in this San Francisco styled seafood grill that always delivers more - more hospitality, more variety and more buzz. This iconic Vancouver restaurant is conveniently located just off of bustling Robson Street. Joe Fortes is where locals and visitors alike come to enjoy the food in town, complemented by an award-winning wine list that boasts over 300 wines, and a uniquely personal level of service and hospitality. Quality, service and reputation - that's the stuff that we are made of. And that's what you can look forward to experiencing on each and every visit to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House. We look forward to serving you.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We called in here for dinner and were pleased that we did. We were seated upstairs and could listen to the live piano which created a great atmosphere. The service was very good and the staff all very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the portions huge - I had fried oysters to start and there were 6 of them and they were huge and very tasty. The lobster oil provided for dipping bread was so delicious we nearly bought a bottle (only the fear of a suitcase breakage an the ensuing mess dissuaded us). All in all very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlierDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,957
    960
    305
    105
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice food, delicious, cooked to perfection. Somewhat expensive so check that out first. I had a lovely crab cake followed by tender steak. Great service. Some what noise to carry on a conversation. I didn't have the oysters but they are know for their oyster bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonCreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south slocan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seafood”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Been here many times and once again, wonderful!
The interior is classic linen and dark wood with detail to service
This time we were in rooftop with the spring sunshine
Incredible service and the food was fantastic

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthSlocanMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Lunch and Dinner with friends”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I first discovered this restaurant in 1993 and has been one of my top 5 places to eat ever since. Whenever I make it to Vancouver, I make sure to enjoy at least one meal at Joe Fortes. On this trip it was my first meal for lunch when i arrived and my last dinner the day before flying back home. I will always enjoy a meal here when in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Food and High Prices”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant a couple days ago on an overnight trip to Vancouver for a hockey game. We were walking Robson Street and It was a beautiful sunny day and we wanted to have a drink and something to eat and saw this restaurant's sunny upper deck. We order calamari and the blue plate special of fish and chips. We have never left so much food on the plate before. The breading on the calamari was too heavy and the seasoning overpowering. The fish filet was tasteless, as were the french fries (how do you get tasteless french fries?), and even the bread wasn't fresh. They have a signature oil and balsamic reduction they pour onto a plaste for dipping the bread. The signature oil is made with lobster and crab, I believe, but it was terribly fishy. Order the regular olive oil or butter. We wasted $50 but the location was nice and the patio is protected from the weather by wind curtains and heaters. We won't go back. Sorry for the bad review, but it was a memorably bad meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing