We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Closure of a beloved restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino di Umberto - CLOSED

Il Giardino di Umberto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Closure of a beloved restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sad to say that Il Giardino is now closed. We willmiss the wonderful upbeat staff, great food, amazng service, and yummy wines. Most of all we will miss being a place to celebrate life's important events.

Umberto deserves his success. He is a superb restauranteur. He still has two places st Whistler which are a huge success. So lucky Whistlerites still have a place to go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ragout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    31
    15
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's gone. An icon of Vancouver, This 80's star is no more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Umberto opened il Giardino in the late 70s and in the 80s especially it was the best place in Vancouver, the site of fantastic late night shenanigans, great food and power-whatevers, Umberto has just announced that this flagship is finally closing forever. I have great memories of this place but have to admit that as Vancouver grew up as food town, I've not been a patron of il Giardino. Perhaps it was time, if not past time.

Just to be clear. The restaurant is closed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbeserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Umberto's below it's usual standards!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just days before Umberto closes his restaurant, a group of us decided to have 'our last supper' there. The coat check/reservation gal was rude, our server was better but the food was horrible. One of the two soups were replaced with the Oyster soup, but the pastas were over salted. The menu prices were increased by 50% minimum and the overall experience was a disaster. Not sad to see it go now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Beautiful Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although il Giardino's is closing down in a week or so, you will still be able to visit a few of Umberto's other restaurants(2 are up at Whistler, BC).

The decor of this heritage home is beautiful and will remain after the doors to the restaurant are closed. We were lucky to get a reservation, as many are wanting to visit before they close they're doors on April 13th, 2013.

The service and much about the feel of il Giardino takes me to Italy, especially our server!
The old house is divided into many very elegant rooms. I loved the decor!

The food and portions were larger than expected. Our anti-pasti we ordered was Calamari lightly grilled with olive oil and lime served with a tomato salsa. It was the largest piece of calimari I've ever had and it was cooked and prepared to perfection! I was amazed with the taste of the food!
We told the server we were sharing and our plates came split and they were huge!

Our entree was also shared and it was handmade tortellini pasta stuffed with roasted squash in a portabello mushroom and white wine tomato sauce. I really appreciated every bite of this delicious entree.

We decided to have the Tiramisu della Casa for dessert, which we also shared; it was one of the best ever! ...and we've eaten alot of Tiramisu in Vancouver.

This restaurant is wonderful, elegant and amazing! I really hope we can visit it one more time but if we don't, we have a beautiful lasting memory of great service, beautiful decor, and amazing food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had not been to Il Giardino for several months and I was pleasantly surprised to see how their service and food had improved. Mind you, the restaurant has always been good but this time the food and service were exceptional. Well worth a try.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino di Umberto also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing