We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”

Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $23 - $185
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dunsmuir St.
Description: Hy's has been Canada's first name in steaks since opening in 1955. For nearly 60 years the Hy's name has meant the finest Canadian beef and impeccable service in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Hy's is Canada's premiere steakhouse. We are Hy's, and proud of it, since 1955.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I eat here one or twice a year and the service is always excellent. The atmosphere is nice old style steak house. The food is usually very good, but this time the cheese bread and salad was excellent but the steak was just ok. For the price you are paying it should be better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanGaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    85
    53
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antarctica
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Steak in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've been a regular at Hy's since I could walk, and that's going on 35 years. Premium cuts of beef. Old school charcoal grill. Amazing service and ambiance. There are very few steakhouses like Hy's. The only ones better that I've experienced is Bohannan's in San Antonio , TX and Rathbun Steak in Atlanta, GA. At Hy's, you must have the cheese bread. I'm a fan of the ribeye steak - a total classic. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ate here on Friday evening 11/04/2014 with business colleagues ,service was great as was the food and drink,all reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Walked in with a party of 10 at around 7pm or so with no reservation on a Tuesday, They handled it very well and sat us almost immediately. We had a quiet little corner surrounded by wine bottles, the waiter was very good though he seemed like he was in a big hurry all the time. The restaurant wasn't busy until about half way through our meal but the service remained consistent. The food was very good, I settled on a salad and a filet. They went out of their way to fix drinks that weren't on their menu and gave us a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sketrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Nothing Compares" with knowledgable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Havn't been for some 5 years since I'm seriously reducing my beef intake. Last night along with some 4 friends and colleagues we re-appeared and were NOT disappointed. Perfect Caesar salad - with a garlic/ anchovy BITE... just how I like it. For some with sensitive taste buds... maybe a little overpowering. That's where the service takes over and flavor preferences or adjustments are easliy navigated by the serving staff during tableside preparation. Three Mixed seafood grill and steaks were presented - while I and another pal ordered the small Beef Filets... each cooked to perfection. The cheese bread and garlic breads are a nice addition. If you havn't tried before ... you should on your next visit. An interesting mix of green beans and mini yellow squash accompanied my filet. Beans were "crispy" and had snap - not overcooked as it is so easy to do. Decor is unchanged and as I remember from the 1st visit more than 30 years ago. Its dark lighting to the point of intimate - so good for special occasions. Be prepared for the "sticker shock" as is the usual standard operating proceedure for iconic restaurants.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZhongouTong53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing