We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #159 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $185
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dunsmuir St.
Description: Hy's has been Canada's first name in steaks since opening in 1955. For nearly 60 years the Hy's name has meant the finest Canadian beef and impeccable service in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Hy's is Canada's premiere steakhouse. We are Hy's, and proud of it, since 1955.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Service!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hy's has an outstanding menu and fantastic service. Be sure to start with the Cheese toast and the ceasar salad dressing made table side is a great starter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    89
    53
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to this place by the concierge at the hotel we were staying at - absolutely fabulous!

Greeting at the door was warm and inviting, the service was simply fantastic. We had Gilles who was extremely attentive and excellent. The steaks were good sized, cooked perfectly and tasted great. Prices were a bit higher, but worth the experience.

The decor is a bit darker than I am used to but adds to the ambiance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CougRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Classic 60s Steakhouse that doesn't feel old.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

They've done a good job at keeping what's classic. The interior is dark and intimate, with a little seating area that is off to the side that was nice. It didn't feel like you are in a huge room with tons of people.

The food was classic steakhouse. I had a Chicago style filet that was really fantastic. The sides were quite good, but the dessert was nothing special, even mediocre. They need to move beyond creme brûlée.

Wine list was good and the sommelier new his stuff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric_yld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Steak House”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being familiar with the name Hys, we went for dinner. Yes it is dark but the interior design matches and suits the darker than normal interior. We were greeted warmly and escorted to a nice table. Our waiter, a large and very affable fellow, took our order as soon as we were ready and the meal went without a hitch. Our steaks were cooked as we requested and we even had deserts, cheese cake and apple crumble. It was Hys and met the standard one expects of a Hys. At 72 perhaps I am a dinosaur and therefore more comfortable with such standards. It was pouring with rain and very cold when we went and it was a pleasure to go into a warm and super friendly restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average food, high price”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time in Hy's - came out for a weekday lunch with some colleagues. As others have described, Hy's has an old clubby atmosphere. Nothing wrong with the look, if you are into that type of thing. Not the best for lunch imho.

I just thought I'd play it safe and order a steak sandwich. This would tell me how well they do a steak, since you are looking at $30 for a strip loin steak, fries and piece of garlic toast. As per my rating, I thought it was very average. The steak was no nicer then a supermarket cut. The grilling and spices were in no way memorable. The fries were downright lousy. Most fast food fries put these to shame. The cheese bread to start was the only star on this day.

Thankfully I didn't drop a couple hundred on a dinner, leaving disappointed. That isn't likely to happen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing