We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was superb and food was surprisingly good for a busy lounge on a busy Saturday night!”
Review of Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar - CLOSED

Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Nelson / Helmcken
Description: Find the new Glowbal at TELUS Garden, located at 590 West Georgia Street in downtown Vancouver.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Service was superb and food was surprisingly good for a busy lounge on a busy Saturday night!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went here with a reservation for 7. To say that the restaurant was busy is a big understatement. Even with this, service was prompt. We were seated outside which didn't turn out to be the warmest place in the restaurant. The waitress was very acute to the situation and moved us inside after about two rounds of drinks. I would definitely recommend the Crispy Calamari as they used fresh calamari and the accompanying sauce was lemon buttery, YUMM. Out of all the satays I would recommend the Mac & Cheese as well as the Shrimp one, both are deep fried and very hearty once you get at the insides! :) The seafood risotto might have been a little too creamy but otherwise delicious! I would recommend a slice or two of lemon drizzled on top of the entire dish! :)

We'll definitely be eating here again! :)

Have fun!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks so much for joining us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    133
    53
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great atmosphere, Food and Service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A group of multigenerational women (all of different ages) had a great time coming in for an early dinner on a Sunday night. After a theatre matinee, we decided to come in and have dinner. We had drinks, appys and a main course. This was followed by a delicious dessert that we all scarfed down. Everything was phenomenal.

Chris, our server, was fantastic. He cracked jokes, was accommodating, and understanding of our mothers (who are a tad demanding) while still being charming to the younger ladies on our night out. His recommendations were spot on. I even asked him to pick something off the menu for me, and just surprise me. He went with the stablefish and deep friend beans. They were perfect!

The staff was friendly, the food delicious, and we had a lovely night!

We ladies, agreed we will be coming back next ladies night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Sounds excellent! I have passed on your kind review to Chris at the Glowbal Grill team. Thank you for joining us and we look forward to serving you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Yaletown Must - global”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Shane was fantastic. Reservation was taken courteously and efficiently. They were ready for us even though we were a bit early. We were going to the Ballet and had a small window of time. A lot of the upscale restaurants don't like children in the restaurant but all of the global staff were very kind and attentive to our children. Our two girls are restaurant friendly and have grown up in and around restaurants and in particular higher end restaurants. Shane spoke directly to our girls and was helpful and patient with them which we greatly appreciated. He recommended the brussel Sprouts and brought us a sample and they were great. All of our meals were fantastic and thanks to all the staff and managers it was awesome. Shane was very gracious. He seemed to genuinely appreciate our wine selection which is nice especially when choosing a Canadian wine. Great job Shane.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - I have passed on your kind words to Shane and the restaurant team. We look forward to serving you and your girls again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly, accommodating staff, good food, warm cozy atmosphere outside.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed very warmly and ackowledged right away as we were taking a peek of the menu outside. That was enough to make me want to come in and try a new place. We had our drinks served right away and we were given time to enjoy it and the menu. Our server knew his stuff so I ordered 3 courses despite the fullness after dinner. Flavours of my artichoke salad and risotto were delish although the fish needed to be cooked just right and not overcooked next time. We enjoyed everything and will definitely come back and highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Liked it, but....”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Popped in Saturday night before a concert. Very busy but staff found us a table with a minimal wait. The heirloom tomato flatbread was really good & we each has the halibut with asparagus risotto. Halibut was so delicious it made up for the undercooked risotto. All the staff we interacted with were very good & helped each other out when too busy. Would go back but risotto was a disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Sorry to hear about your Risotto - please know we are always happy to replace a dish that our guests are not 100% satisfied with. Thank you very much for joining us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing