We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Yaletown Must - global”
Review of Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar - CLOSED

Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Nelson / Helmcken
Description: Find the new Glowbal at TELUS Garden, located at 590 West Georgia Street in downtown Vancouver.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Yaletown Must - global”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Shane was fantastic. Reservation was taken courteously and efficiently. They were ready for us even though we were a bit early. We were going to the Ballet and had a small window of time. A lot of the upscale restaurants don't like children in the restaurant but all of the global staff were very kind and attentive to our children. Our two girls are restaurant friendly and have grown up in and around restaurants and in particular higher end restaurants. Shane spoke directly to our girls and was helpful and patient with them which we greatly appreciated. He recommended the brussel Sprouts and brought us a sample and they were great. All of our meals were fantastic and thanks to all the staff and managers it was awesome. Shane was very gracious. He seemed to genuinely appreciate our wine selection which is nice especially when choosing a Canadian wine. Great job Shane.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - I have passed on your kind words to Shane and the restaurant team. We look forward to serving you and your girls again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    133
    53
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly, accommodating staff, good food, warm cozy atmosphere outside.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed very warmly and ackowledged right away as we were taking a peek of the menu outside. That was enough to make me want to come in and try a new place. We had our drinks served right away and we were given time to enjoy it and the menu. Our server knew his stuff so I ordered 3 courses despite the fullness after dinner. Flavours of my artichoke salad and risotto were delish although the fish needed to be cooked just right and not overcooked next time. We enjoyed everything and will definitely come back and highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Liked it, but....”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Popped in Saturday night before a concert. Very busy but staff found us a table with a minimal wait. The heirloom tomato flatbread was really good & we each has the halibut with asparagus risotto. Halibut was so delicious it made up for the undercooked risotto. All the staff we interacted with were very good & helped each other out when too busy. Would go back but risotto was a disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Sorry to hear about your Risotto - please know we are always happy to replace a dish that our guests are not 100% satisfied with. Thank you very much for joining us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a must go to restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had eaten out many times during our time in Vancouver. We chanced upon Glowbal and we were not disappointed. The service and food was excellent.We were waited on by 'Scotty', and he was attentive to our needs. We had some freebies to start. I had the halibut risotto, which was fantastic.
We sat indoors although you could eat on the patio area.
A restaurant well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Scotty is great - I have passed on your kind words to him and the team. Thank you for making us a part of your time here in Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant fall dinning”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed fall dining on the outdoor seating area of what appeared to be a former loading dock in the Yale Town district. Our waitperson put together a shared meal platter combining a dinner salald and a mix of 5 satay sticks that the two of us shared. I should say the satay sticks were bite size but the salad enough to share. That left room for a substantial sized chocolate cake and ice cream that we shared. Local beer was enjoyable. Dinner for 2 with drinks (I had a second beer) came to under $70 before tip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElgarMedford_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
So glad you were able to join us in historic Yaletown and that you enjoyed your meal!. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing