We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The satay was very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar - CLOSED

Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar
1079 Mainland Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada (Yaletown & False Creek North)
+1 604-602-0835
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Nelson / Helmcken
Description: Find the new Glowbal at TELUS Garden, located at 590 West Georgia Street in downtown Vancouver.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The satay was very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I went for brunch to celebrate birthdays at Glowbal Grill. One of the dishes we ordered was the satay platter and we were not disappointed at all, everything was very tasty. I also had the chowder and it was really good. The place was packed, but not uncomfortable. The service was good. We had a very nice time. There is another friend having birthday, I think I am coming back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Wonderful! We look forward to celebrating the next birthday with you! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate at Glowbal last Tuesday evening (May 28th). The steaks were fantastic, and we both really enjoyed the sides of asparagus and onion rings, Shared the cheesecake for dessert. We thought it was good value for money (CAN$107 + drinks) for the two of us. Service from Glenn was very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Excellent to hear! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“party restaurant, food unnecessarily greasy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Decor reminded me of the boom-chic-a-boom atmosphere of clubs when I was in university in Montreal. So felt dated. Not Less Than Zero dated. But that might have been better.
Our group of 8 had fun, fuelled with good wine. Sampled tons of stuff, some items were unnecessarily deep-fried.
And I pulled the shortest straw and had to pay for the group. Ouch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GorgeousGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a really nice dinner here for a recent stay in Vancouver. Our server was great, the host had our reservation ready to go. A few dietary concerns were accommodated without issue. We shared several items and were surprised how affordable it was for dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for making us a part of your visit to Vancouver - I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Vancouver. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant for Friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We tried Glowbal for the second time in several years because we couldn't remember the last experience whatsoever and oddly enough came away with a similar evening this go round - nothing was really memorable. The food is certainly good but just not great which is similar to one of the other Glowbal Group of restaurants we've tried - Coast. The service was fantastic but the food, like Coast, seemed to miss the mark. This restaurant reminds me of your typical Yaletown restaurant - busy because it's trendy and a menu that is appealing but the food is usually a disappointment. We have yet to try Italian Kitchen but we have heard good things about the food so maybe it will help improve our opinion of this restaurant brand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BRUCE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. While I'm glad to hear you received excellent service, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meals with us. Please let us know when you plan to visit Italian Kitchen and I would be happy to make your reservation for you & ensure you have a true Glowbal Group experience - please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing