We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar - CLOSED

Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: Nelson / Helmcken
Description: Find the new Glowbal at TELUS Garden, located at 590 West Georgia Street in downtown Vancouver.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food and atmosphere were great and Rob was an awesome server-Rob. We started out with the satay appetizer plate, which was varied and tasty overall, and followed with both the ahi tuna entree and the lamb shank. Nice presentation and decent food. Excellent service, which is very important. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Arrived on time for the reservation on a busy Saturday night. The place was packed and we were seated without delay. Twenty-five minutes later, no waiter, no water and no bread in sight. After I got up and asked a passing waiter for service things started with water and bread within a few minutes. The waitress was apologetic and quite charming. We were give a meatball appetizer as a peace offing. It was quite good. Then the 25 person table next to us arrived for a 40th birthday celebration. That's when the decibels approached eardrum shatter. We ordered a Satay Platter, it contained a sampling of all the satay offerings, most were tasty. This was plenty for 4. The beet salad was average. The Lamb shank acceptable however the risotto it lay on had no taste of Parmesan and was watery, not creamy as it should be. The lobster linguini was above average. No dessert, we had to leave to preserve our hearing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Winnipeg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi there. I'm sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your time with us - admittedly, the noise levels do increase on a busy Saturday night. If you did not have a chance to speak with a manager directly, we would be happy to follow up on your behalf. Please send an email to marketing@glowbalgroup.com and we will be in touch. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just want to say, that I am HIGHLY critical when it come to dining experiences. Both of the cuisine, presentation as well as service.

I believe that dining should be an EXPERIENCE. Not merely a "pop-in" and "eat" situation. I decided to go to Glowbal after it was recommended by a customs agent as I traveled from Portland, Oregon to Vancouver, B.C.

I was flying in just for the afternoon/evening in order to take a very special client out to dinner and meet/greet/entertain them for the very first time. Let me tell you -- Glowbal didn't disappoint! Both of us had very special wine and food requests, and ROB (our AMAZING waiter) was absolutely phenomenal. Not overly "sticky sweet," but a GREAT fun personality. He customized a wine tasting menu and a BEAUTIFUL "platter" of didn't small bites that fully displayed the variety and deliciousness of the menu offerings.

We stayed for HOURS and enjoyed every second. While the food was incredible, the real reason why our experience was so great was ROB. He made the extra effort to ensure we felt special, listened to and cared for. This is such a critical and essential part of a dining experience.

Well done, Glowbal. You have a fantastic waiter in Rob, and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Vancouver!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

That is so great to hear - I have passed on your kind words to Rob & the team at Glowbal. Thank you very much for joining us on your short trip to Vancouver - we'd love to have you back when you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful evening here March 15 2013 for his 40th birthday. We have been here before and always find the service friendly and professional. I don't understand the recent negative reviews, because we always have a great experience. Our server was Rob and he made sure everything was perfect, and was attentive and friendly. We spoke to the owner who was overseeing the restaurant and he was also very friendly and genuine. We always ask for a quiet table, away from the bar, if you want to talk. The bar is great for the more hip crowd (which we are not, ha ha).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Great to hear - happy belated birthday to your husband! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Glowbal is a good place before you hit the club and grab something quick to eat food is average tough place to get a table crowded noisy and if your into standing around the bar in a crowd then it's your place there is much better places to go them glowbal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Domicake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there. We admit, on busy weekends the noise levels do increase and it can become quite energetic! It calms down mid-week and is a great time to join us for a quieter dinner. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glowbal Grill & Satay Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing