We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in yaletown.... but SMALL portions”

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: HELMECKEN/DAVIE
Transit: Sky trains Canada Line
oakville, ON
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellence in yaletown.... but SMALL portions”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

had dinner at Cioppinos in June with some colleagues and a client.
Really liked the place... beautiful inside and out, with a fabulous patio outside to sit and people watch.

Food was delicious, but portions were small ( for the men in our party anyway). I thoroughly enjoyed my wild boar two ways, and the halibut was delicious but so small... laughable really... one very thin filet in a small dish atop a small portion of broth. that's it. For an entree in the $38 range, you think they could have thrown in at least three asparagus spears!!! LOL

Dessert too, was minuscule. I know a mouthful or two is usually all I want, but not when i am spending $15 on LITERALLY two mouthfuls of chocolate. pretty to look at, lovely to taste... better hope someone doesn't want to sample!

All in all a very good meal and a fun night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerlyranoakville_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    60
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Vancouver”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the finest restaurant in the city. The service and food are great. the prices are appropriate for the quality. Pino is the to chef in western Canada. This is also the place to see the celebrities and athletes who are in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMaven1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have travelled the world and this place was far from the worst places I have been for service and food. The staff here were rude the food was Okay nothing special and I found extremely expensive.
I will never dine here again. I will tell my friends about this horrible place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We dined while on vacation with our family that includes 3 kids (ages 8, 9, 12). We had a fabulous meal with amazing service in a really lovely space. I was a little hesitant when we walked in as it was a quiet and even romantic restaurant and we brought our kids (albeit early in the evening). Our service was so good and accommodating for the kids and every single thing we ordered was delicious. I can't recommend it enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank srqbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Cooking”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I have been here many times. The food just stays great. We ordered the roast chicken with extra peas, including a stellar pinot noir (recommended by our server). Our appy was the grilled Caesar salad.
Mr. Postero (head chef and owner) spoke to us about our meal and was genuinely interested that we enjoyed our food.
If you appreciate good food, service, and a tremendous selection of tasty wines then eat here.
Since we live in Nanaimo, we only get to dine here occasionally.
Cheers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing