We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 3,600 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Cross street: HELMECKEN/DAVIE
Transit: Sky trains Canada Line
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I was scheduled to attend a dinner here with colleagues, and I have to admit I was a little concerned due to the inconsistent reviews on TA. We had a great dinner! Our waiter was fantastic and provided many suggestions for us. He started us with an assortment of appetizers, all of which were great. I enjoyed the halibut immensely, and everyone else was pleased with their dinner as well. A great restaurant in a great location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    57
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
741 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Overhyped. Not Italian. Not a "Top" Restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived for a reservation at 2100 and was offered the table between the toilet, the main walkway and the open plan kitchen whilst other, much better, tables were empty (and one remained so all evening). We were moved!
Food was definitely not Italian. Pasta/risotto dishes are only offered in full portions so a pasta intermediate course is not possible. Carbs served with main meals (and veg) are non-existent or in tiny portions so you are left having to order more after the main meal has arrived. Two out of three starters were tasteless (beetroot, heirloom tomatoes) and all three were decidedly non-italian. One of the mains was also tasteless; the two veal porterhouse offerings were very good but lacked any carbs apart from a teaspoon of delicious creamy potato.
Wine list is silly for this restaurant and for Vancouver..... Hundreds of top end Italian wines; few of which were personally known to the sommelier and most of which i suspect are never sold as they are just too expensive. (Most of the clientele were not drinking expensive wines). Much better to concentrate on a select, smaller list of quality wines known by the sommelier from a personal point of view. The wine recommended to us was very average and poor value even by Canadian standards.
Service was good.
I cannot understand how this restaurant gets such strongly positive views from the Canadian press - i can only assume that they have no taste or are not independent. The tripadvisor ratings are far more realistic as are those of other, non-Canadian reviewers...

Avoid this place and go elsewhere for much better food even though locals line up to spend their money. The Italian owner/chef here needs a rethink!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and ordinary food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The setting and atmosphere is without reproach so is the service. But the food and the wines are so overpriced.... Some of the high end wines that I could recognise were 4 time what you could have purchase them at the store!. The food on the other end was so ordinary for the high prices that we paid..... If you are a foodie don't go there, there are so many other restaurants where the food is going to be so much better for a lot less. I would not recommend any one to go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had great expectations coming to this restaurant, expecting to be overwhelmed by the food. I was underwhelmed. Appetizers...cut up sausages on toothpicks, rice balls with basil (couldn't taste any basil) and cut-up tomato brouchette....nothing that stood out. Crab salad...well it was crab on some salad greens....tasted okay, but uninspiring. The pasta dish....I like al dente but this was definitely undercooked. For the main course I had black cod, which was very tasty and could not have been better cooked, but the foam on top was yucky and detracted from the beautiful piece of fish that was on my plate. The vegetables that came with my fish were unimaginative, very little, poorly presented. The desert was okay.....some hot chocolate cake. Perhaps my expectations were too high. I like to cook myself and could have easily done a better job.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nkrannitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews are 100% Accurate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Cioppino's is a good restaurant. Good, not great. Staff are warm and friendly. The menu is nice. Good Italian fair. Certainly the other Trip Advisor reviews 'complaining' about the high prices are dead on. Pastas are $25.00 and up. I ordered a dungeonous crab salad for $18.50 that ought to have been teeming with crab meat. Instead, they served me a rather small salad with less than 2 tablespoons of crab meat. Tasty, but just not really worth $18.50. But the octopus appetizer was delicious as was the soup special. And to it's credit, the dessert menu was interesting and varied. Not your typical tiramisu!! The wine menu is huge, but the wines, too, are very very expensive. All in all, a very good meal at a very good restaurant offering good (not great) value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing