We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A League of It's Own” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambar

Chambar
Ranked #33 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Dunsmuir/Pender
Transit: We are the second building north from the Stadium/Chinatown skytrain station.
Description: "An unpretentious fling with fine dining."
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A League of It's Own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I initially thought that "Chambar" was a play on the words "champagne" and "bar". It actually refers to the second holiest city, after Mecca, and means "vibrant". This, for me, explains the exotic flavours infused in some of the dishes, like the curried fish, and the popular Tajine d'aziz a l"agneau.
I cannot wait to try their other dishes, as I have only sampled the foie gras, lamb and veal and squid dishes. Not only were they flavourful, they were presented beautifully. For dessert, we devoured the "deconstructed tiramisu" in a second. Enough said.

Going back to our initial guess that Chambar was a champagne bar, it might as well be. Jason, their sommelier, is a passionate wine and champagne specialist, who indulged us in pairings that were spot-on.

Exciting dishes, crisp service, and the "vibrant" ambiance place Chambar in a league of it's own.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pids_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    293
    80
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The food and service was great except for the asparagus which was very sketchy with very thin asparagus and not worthy of a side dish.

Service was great as was the rest of the food.
The noise level was so high we couldn't hold a conversation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EthelAnnNiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very good creative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

the food was creative , the service very helpful and one of the best beer lists I have ever come across but the i ordered the 3.50 bread and red pepper butter and it was bland factory processed tasteless bread perhaps a notch above the bread one gets in a plane meal
Hey management -if you read this -please do something about this-it was a huge letdown especially when high expectations on everything else were exceeded
the rhubarb dessert was out of this world

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
363 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is not the first time I have been to chambar
I had the Moroccan lamb. It was fantastic.
This time I had the sturgeon and although the dish was plated well and everything was good the fish is not my favourite. Others might like the flavour. That was the first time I had sturgeon and had high expectations. The rest of the experience was as I recall from the first visit - excellent

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greatest meal, will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

From the beginning, "over the top!" Waitress was helpful, gentle, accommodating. Never had such wonderful olive tray appetizer..Yumm. The Belgian Orval beer chilled was perfect. Spouse had the featured, very fresh, Moules Frite Coquette, generous enough to take some home being gently reminded to ensure a good boil on 'reheating' (where else do they remind you nicely like that?) My choice was the mouth-savouring hock of Lamb in a so-tasty cinnamon broth with figs, cous-cous, etc. Again a good enough portion to take home and enjoy the remnants the next day. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon181793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing