We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my Vancouver favorites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambar

Chambar
Ranked #30 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Dunsmuir/Pender
Transit: We are the second building north from the Stadium/Chinatown skytrain station.
Description: "An unpretentious fling with fine dining."
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my Vancouver favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Another fantastic restaurant in my city! Every meal I have had here has been fantastic! The onlly negative is on Friday and Saturday nights I find the music too loud and would prefer it to be a bit more subtle so I can hear the guests at my table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlynwilburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    294
    80
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I m a frequent flyer here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was introduced to this restaurant by my daughter
Have been back several times, no regrets
Introduced most of my friends, every one of them loves this place
Too small, had to forgo a few times

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
404 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good Food but Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had reservations at 6 pm on a Thursday evening with a friend just before the Paul Simon and Sting concert. This was my third visit to this restaurant. Food and service, like the previous visits, were very good. We were finished with our meal by 7:30 pm with plenty of time to make our concert.

We started with a winter salad and the beetroot carpaccio. Both were flavourful and were a colourful presentation. For entrées, we both had the veal and calamari dish. According to our server, this entrée is a brand new menu item that just started that week. I found the portion size for the entrée to be a bit on the small size. For dessert, we both had the café brulee which was just the right portion size and not overly sweet.

Along with a glass of wine, a glass of cranberry juice, and a coffee, the total cost of the meal was $133 before tip.

As in previous times, I did find it to be very noisy in the restaurant which makes having a conversation quite difficult.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, service, but the noise is deafening....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked reservations though Open Table and were immediately seated in a very nice room. Tables are set very close together and as the evening progressed and the noise level increased, it was difficult to carry on a conversation at my own table, however, you could join in with the adjoining table if you desired.
Pros:
* Service was excellent.
* Duck was among best I've had. Really seemed like a filet rather than duck. Very impressive.

Cons:
* Appetizers are overpriced for what you get. Ordered the shrimp and chorizo small plate and for $17 CAD I was expecting to eat more than 2 shrimp and 2 bites of chorizo. Perhaps that was a poor choice on our part. Buyer beware.
* Wine and beer very high priced. $11.00+ for a bottle of beer, not even on tap...
* The noise and proximity of tables ruined the great ambiance of the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“continues to be a mouthwatering experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We returned to Chambar because our previous experiences were simply excellent.
We were warmly greeted at the front desk and promptly taken to our table, along the way waitstaff would also greet us with a sincere "hello".
First up was one of the signature cocktails - fig infused gin martini with a side dish of stilton cheese. This cocktail continues to make me shake my head and say "wow". The stilton is such a great combination with the fig gin.
We shared the beet carpaccio which was thin slices of roasted beet and a little salad. Just the right amount to share.
Sweetheart had the lamb shank tangine and the meat simply fell off the bone. Done to perfection.
I had the venison/elk/boar combination which was a taste sensation. The sauce was perfect.
Along with three glasses of red wine our bill was about $150. A very fair price for this level of quality - in both food and service.
Nice to hear that Chambar is moving next door to a larger room along with Medina (the sister restaurant) and having an outdoor area and expanded tapa list.
We will be back !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing