We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chambar

Chambar
Ranked #33 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Dunsmuir/Pender
Transit: We are the second building north from the Stadium/Chinatown skytrain station.
Description: "An unpretentious fling with fine dining."
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had our office Christmas Party in December 2013. It was a pre set menu with starter, main, and dessert. Options were mussels and frites, steak, and lamb. The food was good. Service was excellent! Our server was exceptional and took care of the whole group with a smile! Food came out on time. We reserved a private room for our group. Extensive wine and beer list. Our group was happy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A and Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    298
    80
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Enlightening Beverages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Oddly enough the food doesn't stand out in memory; but it was their amazing selection of Belgian beers which I considered a life-altering experience and opened my eyes to the wizardry of the Trappist monks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad-Anthony-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

How can so many people like this place? We read all the reviews and were looking forward to a fabulous experience. We reserved a week in advance for Saturday at 6 for 2 but were told we would have to leave by 7:45. I should have taken the hint then. We arrived early and the restaurant was not full yet. Even then the music was so loud the waiter had to shout to be heard. It just got louder from there, with increased conversation and everyone competing to be heard. Our table was so close to the next group that I felt I was sharing in their conversation rather than having a romantic dinner with my partner. After numerous communication difficulties resulting in missed orders and overall poor service, we left by our deadline with a rather bad taste in our mouthes and a ringing in the ears. The staff must be so used to it that they don't seem to notice or care.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank racingwiththewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
248 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Above and beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We hosted a large dinner party here, 33 people. They have a great back room, very private. The food was excellent, flavours fantastic! Service was spot on, wine, plates, all served perfectly.
It is a real test for a kitchen to serve everyone quickly and not have big delays in the delivery.
Chambar not only handled our group, but the rest of the restaurant as well!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willbikeforwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Okay to be honest... a very weak 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I planned to celebrate our Christmas dinner together at Chambar for 2013 and I have to say, it was disapointing. Her and I have been wanting to try it for quite some time and we thought Christmas would have been a awesome time to try it. After hearing mostly great things about it, honestly, it didn't meet all the hype.

THE GLOW:
I will say it was much more casual than I expected, with that said, the atmosphere is pretty cool, hip, modern, yet very welcoming. The rooms wrap you up with their warm colours. We did find it a bit on the louder side but still very inviting.

Drink menu was pretty spectacular with a quite an impressive menu. If you like your drink, this is a for sure place for it.

The mussels and frites were for sure the best thing we ordered. If we didn't come to our table, I think my rating would have ben 2 stars.


TO GROW:
Customer Service: I was so not impressed by our server. He took at least 15 minutes to come back with to get our drink orders. Not cool. I don't care how busy it is, when I am paying that much money for dinner, I expect better service. Then after we got our food (not by our server I may add) he never came and checked up on us after our first bite, which I think was so not cool . I would have given my feedback then but the longer I waited for him to come, the more disappointed I got and then it was like "whats the point?" He came back but after our plates got taken away by whom I think was a bus boy. The only time he came to our table was to ask if we wanted dessert and we unfortunately said "no thank you"

Quality of food: although lavished with a great descriptions, honestly, the food quality was okay. My meat was a bit bland and nothing too special. Portions seemed a bit small as well.

So to wrap it up, the areas to Grow ... customer service and quality of food... what else is there in a restaurant to be the best at? These two areas make or break or an establishment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing