We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Italian with great veggie gnocchi”
Review of Cafe Il Nido

Cafe Il Nido
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Il Nido is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #765 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Bus stop & skytrain station walking distance in the heart of downtown
Description: Since opening in 1988, Il Nido has consistently ranked in the top echelon of Vancouver Restaurants. Here, BC's finest ingredients are used to create dishes reminiscent of Northern Italy - "the food of kings, peasants and, everyone in between". Traditional fish, meat and pasta dishes are made with the use of non-traditional herbs and spices, such as saffron and ginger. Sauces are lean and light. Fresh fish and vegetables are staples. Desserts are home-made. With its elegant yet, casual atmosphere, muted/understated decor and sunny patio, this "Nest In The City" is a destination for those who enjoy wonderful food and good conversation. Groups of up to 50 are welcome and custom menus are easily designed with organic, gluten free, and vegetarian options available. As Il Nido continues as one of Vancouver's finest restaurants, evolving with imagination and inventiveness, its motto remains: Everyone Leaves Happy.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A good Italian with great veggie gnocchi”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good Italian food and a really good veggie pumping gnocchi. Best to check ahead that it is open as we found it closed on a Tuesday when we tried to return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really great service but the bolognese was bland”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The patio looked great but we did not use it as it was still a bit chilly in Vancouver. The service was greally great as they gave us recommendations, kept refilling our waters, and when we finished our bread the offered us 2nds! We shouldn’t have taken them up on their offer because after we had the appetizer we could only get though half of the main. We both had the Bolognese which unfortunately, was a bit bland... or maybe we just had too high expectations? Either way there are better places to get pasta, but if you’re on robson street it’s worth a visit because it is affordable and not your typical joeys/milestones.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Menu Unveiled”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Sheer coincidence brought us to Cafe il Nido on the night they introduced a new menu. We dined alongside many members of area press/media. Beginning with a glass of wine poured by il Nido's incredibly professional and proficient hostess (working in a dual role as server too), that being offered to the other guests, we enjoyed every single minute that followed. Delicious bread made right there, warm olives bathed in oil, caprese salad, salmon, risotto & sausage, along with a bottle of sangiovese; finishing with chocolate gelato - each dish prepared to perfection. The location is a bit out of the way, but as with nearly any city location it is very accessible. Overall this is a great choice for casual, friendly dining, full of taste!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The foccacia was dry and tasteless, the pasta sauces were bland, the food was generally so far removed from its wonderful Italian roots that it was unrecognizable. It wasn't inedible, but it wasn't the vibrant italian meals that one gets in Italy. The best was the salads which were fresh and tasty.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindapNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We did not reserve a table even though Vancouver was doing a dine out food festiva,l on arrival we were shown to a lovely table in a quaint but busy restaurant. The food was excellant and surpassed all our execpations, the menu was varied and exciting and the meals we chose were delicious and cooked to perfection.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jase495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Il Nido also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing