We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in great location”
Review of Cafe Zen

Cafe Zen
Ranked #469 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Eaglescliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food in great location”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Situated on Yew just a very short stroll from Kits beach, Cafe Zen is a great place for breakfast/brunch/lunch. Excellent selection of breakfast items, bennies, and omelettes, all well cooked and at a good price with friendly service. Heavy coffee drinkers should note that after 4 refills of the medium size cups you get charged again. The fact that this is one of the favourite places for Vancouver cops to eat underlines what good value it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popular Brunch Spot”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just came back from a nice Saturday brunch/breakfast at Cafe Zen on Yew.
The restaurant is in a cute area just a few blocks up from the beach. We lucked out when we arrived and our party of 3 was seated immediately in what looked like the only open table, right by the window. We noticed a small line form after we arrived but it didn't seem to take too long to get through. It was busy inside and the tables were fairly close together but it was not too loud (no blaring music either).

The menu was all breakfast items - traditional eggs, pancakes, couple mexican inspired dishes and benny's. The benny's seemed very popular -regular orders come with two, which can be mix and matched or you can get half orders which is nice. We all ordered bennys, a mix and match of ham, bacon, california, and florentine. The food came out quickly but we noticed it wasn't as hot as you would expect it to be. Everyone enjoyed their meal but for me the hollandaise was a little sweet. Not sure if it is made from scratch or not but im always picky with hollandaise since I make my own (maybe the flavour had to do with it being made with margarine?) not sure but it was passable. For brunch I usually like to have a selection of lunch items as well as breakfast items so I would think of this more as an all day breakfast kind of place. The menu is also available online if you want a peak before you go.

The service was fine- not bad but not exceptional, she was nice but not overly friendly or memorable.
The value was fair, everyone was full and many items were under $15

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank van_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome value!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

love heading here for breakfast in the morning ! especially before 11- no line ups and cheaper breakfast for the early birds! love how you can mix and match bennys! helps with all the choices on the menu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best traditional brunch - we go every week”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A great place for all the tradition brunch foods, benny's, pancakes, waffles, French toast (a must), omelettes, eggs any style - don't miss the bacon!!

Very popular get there before 930 for little or no line, after that you may wait a bit, less for parties of two, not bad for four, could be long for more.

If you can go during the week it's calm and wonderful! And in summer months a great patio has room for 8ish so go early or during the week to get it.

The lumberjack is a gear deal if you're hungry. Benny's can be pick and choose - they come with two of the same or u can mix and match. Most items available for half orders. The breakfast potatoes are my wife's fav!

Highly recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“The place for brunch”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tucked away on the west side of Yew St. is Cafe Zen.

There is nothing fancy about the exterior, but as you, approach the front door there is a small outdoor patio that overlooks Kitsilano Park. This is not a quiet cafe the voices of the diners, spill out onto the street, but they sound happy. The cafe is housed in a small building with packed tables similar to a European cafe.

As your eyes move over the walls, you will spot the photos from all over the world. If you buy Zen apparel, travel, wear the apparel and then snap a photo, the Cafe Zen will place your photo on the wall. Simple decor but very effective. (I do not have a photo up on the walls, but I enjoy looking at many of the places that we have travelled.)

The best part is when you sit down and study the menu, the Cafe Zen makes eggs Benedict in over twenty different styles. The food is simple but extremely tasty, the service is very good. My favourite is one of the combo Benedict's, a regular Benedict with a California Benedict. Wash it down with a fresh squeezed orange juice.

The crowd is a mix of every corner of the city, one day you will sit beside a police officer, the next a hockey star, the next a Hollywood star, you just never know. People are friendly and courteous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing