We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best butternut squash ravioli ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #768 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Granville
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best butternut squash ravioli ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

all i can say here is BUTTER SAUCE??? what? I am a lover of yams, squashes, and all of the pumpkin type family....so yam fries for an appie, butter nut squash ravioli soaked in a buttery sauce for dinner, and a cactus lime margarita is pretty darn close to what I would want for my last meal...my only complaint is that for $24 you get so few ravioli!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hav0vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
533 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Above average for a chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

But not on par with smaller, independent restaurants I would give four stars to. Three and half is more like it. Still, considering that they're almost as common as Starbucks, what the Cactus Club does it does very well. The food will never amaze but it's reliably well prepared from seemingly* fresh ingredients, and the choices feel modern and yet comfortable at the same time.

*Must note that the menu is fairly extensive, and being a chain I'm guessing that it's not possible to do everything they offer fresh on site. I've seen many a restaurant start out claiming to be more original, but the temptation of the conveyor belt wins out every time.

Wine list is good (the Le Vieux Pin red for under $40 is almost worth going to Cactus Club for all by itself).

The one thing I've noticed about the two I've been to, and I don't know if this is true of all of them, is that I've sometimes felt like the only happily married person in the room. There's a 'meat market' atmosphere, from the clubby, danceable music that plays in the background to the servers in the slinky black dresses. In Surrey, it's probably the best place to go out for a drink if you're divorced and trying to mate again.

But nothing wrong with that, right? Obviously the formula's working: everybody laughed when Rob Feeney closed Luminaire and signed on with Cactus Club, but they're not laughing now.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Seriously.. Do I even need to write this review? who doesn't like Cactus Club? The food and drinks are always top notch.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Excellent meu items.Fresh ingredients. Changing menu.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank rwadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, B.C.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too Noisy!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Food is iffy here. Sometimes good sometimes only good. A young crowd always hangs out at these resturants.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murphymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing