We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a snack or a meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #46 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place for a snack or a meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Interesting decor, good food and service. You can count on getting your favorite dishes in all Cactus Club restaurants. However, I find it very noisy and try to get a table as far from a speaker as possible. If we cannot, we leave to find another place to eat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanttotravelsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    171
    40
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cactus Club Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent food overlooking Sunset Beach. the hip, young wait-folks provided excellent and friendly service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TWalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What is Happening to the Cactus Club?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Cactus Club:
Last week we stopped in at the Cactus Club location in the 500 block of West Broadway. Much to our surprise the menu looked quite different from what we expected to see. When we mentioned this to the waitress, she informed us that this particular location was a test location for the chain. It appears that the former Food Architect and now Executive Chef Rob Feenie is attempting to remake the Cactus Club in his image! Old standbys are eliminated for fancier and pricier fare. Potato skins and Broccoli/cheese soup are gone the way of the Dodo. Diners of a vegetarian bend who also don’t like mushrooms will not find much to please them. A simple pasta dish would be nice, but probably would not allow a hefty enough price per plate. Slowly the Cactus Club is driving us away.

In all fairness the food at the Cactus Club is very good and service is of a high standard; although, much to the annoyance of one of us, this location no longer serves anything but plain drip coffee. With all those fancy dishes no fancy coffees. No lattes! But, of course, there is plenty of wine to be had—much better markups, to be sure!

All in all then the Cactus Club chain of restaurants is no longer as attractive for us as it once was. We eat lunch out about four times a week and prefer restaurants that keep dishes we like on hand for a long time at a reasonable price. By the time we left this particular Cactus Club the bill with the usual 15% tip (though without alcoholic beverages) came to over $50.00. And neither of us had one of those $24.00 main dishes. That sort of bill is beginning to look like real money for a retired couple.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sasha2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ate dinner here on Aug. 10th. It's obviously where the "It" crowd hangs out. Black & slinky is the dress code here. We were not "It", or in black or slinky clothes, so we were quickly shuttled to the rear of the restaurant, surrounded by those who looked similar to ourselves (chuckle). That aside, the servers were ultra attentive and the food was very good and presented well. My husband & I each had a Filet Mignon with potatoes & a vegetable. All done to perfection. And I had the most amazing peach Bellini EVER! Get reservations weeks out if you hope to eat here on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Easy Food Range from East to West.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Loud music with vibrant contemporary decor. Ex-Feenie's chef moved to Cactus Club. Menu gets changed on a regular basis. Great food and price. Service is good. Conviently located in town with various locations. Ideal place to go with friends.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelPuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing